Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Introduce Yourself (https://www.quiltingboard.com/introduce-yourself-f3/)
-   -   Hello, from CT (https://www.quiltingboard.com/introduce-yourself-f3/hello-ct-t17184.html)

alimaui 03-03-2009 09:38 AM

Hello Ladies,

My name is Alicia, I am from CT. I am new quilter. I worked on a couple projects with my mother and grandmother many years ago, but am now learning again, and teaching myself.

I have been perusing the board for a few months now, and decided to register because I had some burning question. I will put those in the main forum.

I inherited a machine from my husband's grandmother. Its a Singer machine from the 1950's. I was happy to receive a machine, it is an oldie, but a goodie. I am curious how many of the ladies here use the older machines, and if you think you are hindered in your creativity without some of the whiz bang features that the newer computerized machines offer.

Deara 03-03-2009 10:09 AM

Hello & Welcome Alicia from North Carolina.
I have an older Brother with the basic stitches.
So far being new to quilting I haven't had a need for something with more bells and whistles.
Deara

Moonpi 03-03-2009 10:13 AM

Welcome Alicia! Sewing machines have come a long ways, but when it comes down to it, most piecing is just straight stitching. I admit some envy when I hear people talking about their longarm marvels, or fancy embroiderers, but I think most would agree we use whatever will "Get 'er Done".

Jim's Gem 03-03-2009 11:22 AM

Welcome from Southern California

pocoellie 03-03-2009 11:40 AM

Welcome from NE CA. Glad you joined us. Lots of friendly, talented people on board and will help in any way they can. My personal machines are 2 newer elna's, 2 old Singer's(30's), 2 Kenmore's(70's)Montgomery Wards(50's)and a Husqvuarna. I like all of them.LOL They all have their uses.

Mplsgirl 03-03-2009 12:15 PM