Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Introduce Yourself (https://www.quiltingboard.com/introduce-yourself-f3/)
-   -   Hello from Houston! (https://www.quiltingboard.com/introduce-yourself-f3/hello-houston-t249798.html)

quilt938 07-09-2014 09:45 AM

Hello from Houston!

I found this forum while looking for information on vintage Singers! I've been quilting since 2001 - I tried a few classes a few years earlier but didn't really get into it until 2001. I always wanted to sew but the chance to learn never came up and I wasn't the brave sort to venture out on my own!

I love simple quilts (actually love some of the more complicted ones- just don't love doing them!) I like piecing and am happy with rail fences, 9 patches, and quick patterns. I did a bunch of swaps on another forum about 10 yrs ago but they went the way of more complicated so I haven't done as many. I ventured into that section here and see several I'd like to do - just have to see about the time.

I just brought down furniture and sewing machines/accessories from my parents' (they passed in 2011) so I'm currently fixing up my townhome so I can use the back section for quilting and sewing machine 'display' :ospace is becoming a premium!

I'm enjoying reading through the different forums and hope to get to know some of y'all better.

Nammie to 7 07-09-2014 09:52 AM

Welcome from South Dakota. This is a great place to learn about quilting. I haven't taken the plunge into fixing up vintage machines yet, even though I have 4 (inherited from family). I think there is a lot of knowledge to pick up from this forum. If you haven't already attended the Houston Quilt Festival make sure it is on your bucket list!

cashs_mom 07-09-2014 09:53 AM

Welcome from a fellow Houstonian! This is a great place. Lots of good information and inspiration!

Tartan 07-09-2014 09:54 AM

Welcome from Ontario, Canada.

quilt938 07-09-2014 10:49 AM