Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Introduce Yourself (https://www.quiltingboard.com/introduce-yourself-f3/)
-   -   Hello from Illinois (https://www.quiltingboard.com/introduce-yourself-f3/hello-illinois-t204969.html)

moppetsragmop 11-03-2012 07:42 AM

Hello from Illinois

found your site while searching for crazy quilts on Google. I have been quilting for around 30 yrs. I live in a small rural town (200 people) and getting supplies sometimes can be a challenge. I live with my 5 parrots and 1 tom cat. I favor applique over everything as I love having something to do with my hands while I watch tv or listening to a audio book. I am attempting to start a crazy quilt as my friend wants couple of lap quilts done from her grandmothers clothing that I am adding extra fabrics of different sorts to them. I am having a hard time locating the little charms that you can put on them. I am doing these by hand (she know it will not be bam and done.) and doing all the embellishments at the same time and then sewing them together. And it will be tacked with small stitches and tied in the back . she has also sent the batting for them as she wants that to be in it. which means it is going to be a very heavy lap quilt. any help would be gladly appreciated.

Becca

DogHouseMom 11-03-2012 08:33 AM

Hello Becca - from another Illinoisan. I've been all over rural Illinois but I must confess to never having heard of Bone Gap - so indeed I had to look it up!!! Of course, few people who live within 50 miles of me have not heard of my town either.

Lots of great people here on the board!!!