Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Introduce Yourself (https://www.quiltingboard.com/introduce-yourself-f3/)
-   -   Hello from South Louisiana (https://www.quiltingboard.com/introduce-yourself-f3/hello-south-louisiana-t15364.html)

GailG 01-13-2009 01:23 PM

Well, I'm sure everyone knows WHO I am by now, since I have so many questions and I sometimes seem to talk too much, but today as I was going over the introductions given in the Newsletter (Konstantin's), it dawned on me that I have never done this. Leave it to me to be a**backwards. :oops: I joined sometimes in late spring (I think) and jumped right in. I have learned so much from everyone here.

I was a teacher for 33 years (always in the same parish in Louisiana). My degree is in Home Economics Education, but I have only taught Home Ec. for a few months. In my early years I worked at a vocational school teaching nutrition to a practical nursing class. I then went back to school to certify in elementary education and spent 28 years at the same school until I retired in 1998. (Most of my years were spent as a first grade teacher.) It was in December of my retirement year when I became ill and took sick leave until my retirement date of Feb. 28, 1998. In '98, I overcame cancer and a stroke. Not to forget the broken arm from a klutsy fall on Main Street in September. :oops: :lol: :lol: :lol:

That first year of retirement was such a bore. You can only clean house so much and then no more. [And I'm no housekeeper!!] I became interested in quilting when I joined this homemaker's club with members who did some quilting and other types of sewing. I worked with them some and watch a lot of Simply Quilts and other quilting shows on TV. Then came the purchasing of books, books, books. And then fabric, fabric, fabric.