Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Introduce Yourself (https://www.quiltingboard.com/introduce-yourself-f3/)
-   -   hi fellow quilters (https://www.quiltingboard.com/introduce-yourself-f3/hi-fellow-quilters-t179188.html)

roseirish48 02-12-2012 09:52 PM

hi fellow quilters

i have been quilting for many years starting as soon as I could thread a needle and sew a straight line. My mother would cut blocks for 4-patch blocks and my sisters and I would sew them together. Once we had enough my mother would sew the blocks together on the machine. Once top was completed,she would lay out the layers ready to tie knot them. She would place the yarn ties, we would come along behind her to snip the yarn and do the actual knotting while arguing who's bed it would end up adorning.
My first quilt was for my first child in the Spring of 1969. I drafted the TIME AND TIDE pattern from a sketch i had seen in a magazine and used what fabric scraps I had on hand. I used an old scratchy blanket for the batting as my husband was unemployed so there was no spare money for other supplies.