Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Introduce Yourself (https://www.quiltingboard.com/introduce-yourself-f3/)
-   -   Hi from New Jersey (https://www.quiltingboard.com/introduce-yourself-f3/hi-new-jersey-t310044.html)

Dalykim 03-07-2020 08:11 AM

Hi from New Jersey

Hello from New Jersey, I am brand new to this quilting board. I have joined for guidance. My mom, who was probably a part of this quilting board, sadly passed away in November. She was an avid quilter for many many years and has a large amount of quality fabrics (at least three large cabinets plus...). My Dad wants to sell it and other of her items, so I am trying to figure out the best way to give her love for this fabric (and several unfinished quilts in various stages) the care it deserves. I do sew, she taught me well, and very basic quilt skills (I can make tee shirt quilts lol) and I have knowledge of fabrics from working in fabric stores for years when I was younger. I have heard to sell the lots by color and weight. She did a good job storing the fabrics essentially by colors and shades. There are some fat quarters rolled up. There are also items such as used rotary cutters and blades still in packages. Any advice or suggestions from any of you who live in her world of quilters would be greatly appreciated. ❤️💔❤️ Thank you

NJ Quilter 03-07-2020 09:22 AM

Welcome from another Jersey girl! Where in NJ are you and/or your mom's things? I might be able to give you some local resources.

I'm currently out of town with a family emergency but please reply or PM me and I'll try to help.

Dalykim 03-07-2020 09:31 AM

To NJ Quilter

I sent a quick reply but do not know if it worked. No rush, but when you are back in town could you let me know if you got my other message. I am in Toms River. Don’t know how to navigate this site yet, including comments and threads.

juliasb 03-07-2020 10:22 AM