Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Introduce Yourself (https://www.quiltingboard.com/introduce-yourself-f3/)
-   -   I wish my Grandma was here to help! (https://www.quiltingboard.com/introduce-yourself-f3/i-wish-my-grandma-here-help-t143223.html)

Stasia 08-06-2011 08:03 PM

This is my first post on anything. I'm new to quilting, but not sewing. My son is leaving for college and I've been saving all of his sports t-shirts since he was 5. I'm making his Journey quilt. I backed every shirt on Pellon 906F and there is a 1 & 1/2 inch sashing around the shirts. It's all sewn together and ready for quilting. I have a new quilting machine and I've been practicing on a mock quilt. I've got the meander stitch down pretty good. I was originally going to meander just the shirts and do something different in the sashing, but I meandered across the sashing (on the mock quilt) and it looks nice also. So if I decide to do the entire quilt in meander, do I still stitch the ditch along the sashing first or do I forgo that whole ditch part? Will it be stable if I don't stitch the ditch? I'm so confused and my brain hurts from reading the entire internet and not finding an answer. Any input would be fantastic!!

cathyvv 08-06-2011 08:06 PM

Don't know, but am interested to learn the answer. If it wasn't a T-shirt quilt, I'd guess you could forgo the sitd if you meander the sashing. But maybe the T-shirt quilts need extra fortification?

Stasia 08-06-2011 08:09 PM

I just don't know. The t-shirts are pretty stable. I just don't want to make another mock quilt. It's a pain to put the pellon on and sew the whole thing together for practice. I just don't want to mess up his quilt.

tammy cosper 08-06-2011 08:21 PM

If you meander over the entire quilt,you won't need to stitch in the ditch. That meandering will hold everything in place very well.

Stasia 08-06-2011 08:29 PM