Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Introduce Yourself (https://www.quiltingboard.com/introduce-yourself-f3/)
-   -   I'm from Texas! (https://www.quiltingboard.com/introduce-yourself-f3/im-texas-t72742.html)

Tolelady53 10-28-2010 04:24 AM

I've been lurking here for several weeks, and really like the fact that the board is very active with a lot of participation. I've been quilting for about 25 years (OMG) and I love it still.

Earlier this year I was concerned that I had was losing my love of quilting because every time I picked up something to quilt...it became a "job" not a "joy." Ultimately in May I had to have "emergency" surgery when they finally discovered I had a mass that covered my abdoment. During surgery they removed 3 ovarian tumors (one with encapsulated stage 1a cancer), lymphnodes, ovaries and 10 liters of fluid. Within 3 weeks of leaving the hospital I lost 47 pounds! Woohoo! I've gained back some but working on it.

The biopsies ultimate showed that the cancer, although beginning, was high-grade malignancy and it was recommended that I take chemotherapy. I had 3 treatments (actually their was 4-in-1...so I really had 12) 7 weeks apart.

I'm on the mend and getting my hair back...and my love of quilting! So what better place to chat than with others who love quilting as much as I do. I look forward to "meeting" y'all!

marymm 10-28-2010 04:28 AM

Welcome. I need to lose the weight but that's a hard way to do it! Sounds like you're on the mend...Happy quilting!

gemmyfrog 10-28-2010 04:34 AM

I'm sorry about the cancer and chemo. My sister went through Uterian/Overian cancer about 7 years ago. She is cancer free now and actually was feeling much better after the surgury than she had in years! I hope you do as well too!

Originally Posted by Tolelady53