Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Introduce Yourself (https://www.quiltingboard.com/introduce-yourself-f3/)
-   -   A NEW QUILTING BUDDY LOL (https://www.quiltingboard.com/introduce-yourself-f3/new-quilting-buddy-lol-t4153.html)

carolkeup 01-20-2008 02:55 PM

Hi 2 all. I am 48 yrs old and drove a big truck over the road for 13 yrs, until I fractured hip and the other one about to break. Anyway had the 1st one replaced and 10 months later had the other one replaced. Then 4 months my right hand messed up, so had to have it rebuilt and put back together with staples. Needless to say I am now disabled. I am new to quilting and having problems. I have a bernina embroidery machine that will whip out some great things, but to tell the story, I bought a large piece fabric to practice on my embroidery and low and behold my 4 yr old grandson walked in, picked it up rapped up in it and said "THIS IS MINE" so I ended up cutting it up in squares, buying more fabric, cutting it up, embroidered it all a full size quilt top. It has family tree with birthdays and every kind of horse, motorcycle and you name it. Anyway the top came out great but when it came to quilting my sewing machine said to itself you can't do this. So now I am looking for a machine that is not a brother from walmart. Can anyone suggest a good machine for this purpose.

Moonpi 01-20-2008 06:10 PM

Welcome! Up above is a search feature, lots of threads on what people like and don't about their machines. It's kind of a personal decision. Try them out and see which one fits you. Don't be afraid to bring in your own fabric and batting to practice on.