Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Machine Embroidery
Embroidery Machines Lets Chat & Have Fun >

Embroidery Machines Lets Chat & Have Fun

Embroidery Machines Lets Chat & Have Fun

Old 04-16-2017, 05:15 AM

You have to actually change the file...convert it...not just change the name from PES to JEF. Your machine won't read a PES file, so changing the name won't do anything. You will need a file converter to convert your files over to Jef format. Ask here, some of the ladies may know which ones are free, better, etc.
Old 04-16-2017, 04:57 PM

Thanks Donna, I already knew that! I figured it out and tried on the new machine and it worked great. I appreciate you for responding.
Old 04-22-2017, 05:59 PM
njw

Hello. I can see this forum isn't very current so I don't know if there is anyone "out there" who can help me. I am looking to purchase a used Bernina 200 embroidery machine. I am a newbie. Can these machines use newer software? Can I use my Mac with it? Thanks so much if anyone can help.
Old 04-22-2017, 07:40 PM

njw,

I'll be watching for responses to your question. I have a Bernina 635 with the embroidery attachment, and I am unable to use my Mac with it. There is software - is it called Embrilliance? - that is supposed to help us Mac users make the translation. I haven't tried it, as I've found it easier to use my husband's PC to download designs.

Even the Bernina embroidery software won't run on a Mac, which I find irritating and insulting - but obviously Bernina doesn't care. One of these days I may just buy the cheapest PC I can find and dedicate it to embroidery. So far I've been so frustrated by having spent so much money only to learn that I need to spend more (on a PC, the embroidery software, etc.) in order to make it work, that I've thrown in the towel. Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr. I hope I'll feel differently one day.

Thanks for letting me vent.
Old 04-23-2017, 03:27 AM