Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Machine Embroidery (https://www.quiltingboard.com/machine-embroidery-f28/)
-   -   Help plz:Continuous border hoop versus magnetic hoop? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/machine-embroidery-f28/help-plz-continuous-border-hoop-versus-magnetic-hoop-t316241.html)

dgm 08-27-2021 02:39 PM

Help plz:Continuous border hoop versus magnetic hoop?

I would like to embroider a border on a 42" square tablecloth. I am new to embroidery last year; I bought a used Brother Dream Machine. Brother makes a 4x7 "border hoop" that has clasps that are reportedly easy to use for doing border designs. On the other hand, it looks like the magnetic hoops might be just as easy (more easy?) and more versatile. If I get a 9.5x14 size could cut down the number of hoops for doing border pieces and allow me to do other big hooping with more ease.

Is there something about the Brother border hoop that makes it more advantageous?

Either choice, the border hoop or the big magnetic hoop, pretty expensive. Any advice on which one I should choose?

Rhonda K 08-27-2021 05:27 PM

I would get the larger hoop. You need some room to position the design if needed. A smaller hoop limits that.

What type of design and stabilizer are you planning to use on the table cloth?

I use sticky back stabilizer to extend my project and get it hooped.

Good luck!

dgm 08-27-2021 06:01 PM

Thanks, Rhonda!

My husband asked what I wanted for my upcoming birthday, and I convinced him a hoop for doing borders would be a treat.