Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
{Please Help} I am looking for the recommendations for Sewing Machines! >

{Please Help} I am looking for the recommendations for Sewing Machines!

{Please Help} I am looking for the recommendations for Sewing Machines!

Old 09-26-2020, 12:16 AM

Default {Please Help} I am looking for the recommendations for Sewing Machines!

Hey! Folks, I hope you guys are doing well and safe in this pandemic.
I need help regarding Sewing Machines.
I am planning to give the gift to my grandma on her 61st birthday. I have checked AliExpress and this website for reviews https://sewingzone.net/best-heavy-duty-sewing-machines/
Both AliExpress and SewingZone are showing different reviews and prices for the same.
I need your guys' recommendations as I am very new to this field. Please suggest me which Heavy Duty Sewing Machines I should buy.
Old 09-26-2020, 03:54 AM

i wouldn't buy any NEW Singer. Brother, Janome and Juki have a fairly good reputation, What is your grandmother going to be sewing? She might be happier with a vintage machine, since they're not made of plastic, although they do tend to be a tad heavy, but you can generally service them yourself and virtually impossible to break them.
Old 09-26-2020, 04:05 AM

Personally if it were me, i would rather be taken shopping and pick out my own machine. Sewing machines are like underwear, everyone has preferences. I wouldn't want someone buying me bikini panties if I prefer full fit panties. Sewing machines have very different uses, some lean toward embroidery or fancy stitches, some lean toward general sewing without a lot of the fancy doodads. Singers are not the quality they used to be, nor are Vikings, which are owned by the same company. I like my Babylocks. She needs to test drive several machines to see which one fits her best. And number 1 on my list is to have a reputable dealer nearby in case I need help with the machine. I wouldn't buy a sewing machine online.
Old 09-26-2020, 04:40 AM