Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Accuquilt Dies for Beginner Quilter >

Accuquilt Dies for Beginner Quilter

Accuquilt Dies for Beginner Quilter

Old 07-29-2021, 12:08 PM

Default Accuquilt Dies for Beginner Quilter

I'm thinking about purchasing the Accuquilt Go Fabric Cutter and would like recommendations for the most versatile and most used dies to start off with. I'm a beginner quilter.... my spare time is limited, so for a while, I will most likely be doing relatively easy quilting projects and block sizes 8" to 12" (nothing smaller for now).
Thinking about getting the Ready Set Go kit with the 8" Qube and 2.5" strip die included. Will this give me the most commonly used dies or would I be better off with a different kit or cutter & dies purchased separately?
I just want to get the most bang for my buck to start off with and have the versatility to make quite a few different projects before needing to purchase more dies. Since I'm new to quilting and don't really have a favorite size or style yet, I'm not sure what to buy.
Old 07-29-2021, 12:58 PM

The first set I bought was the Go Mix and Match 12" because I could make 6" or 12" and even 18" blocks. I used them a lot. I Think you would find similar flexibility with the Ready Set Go with the 8" block and all of the other go and it is a great price right now.

There are a lot of videos on utube on how to mark and use the dies. Marking the dies helps when positioning fabric and if you stiffen your fabric (I starch mine board stiff) you don't have to be as careful about grain lines (especially helpful when using scraps) and if the pieces are stiff when you sew there is less stretching.
Old 07-29-2021, 02:45 PM
Power Poster