Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
bobbin tension?  not catching stitch in FMQ >

bobbin tension? not catching stitch in FMQ

bobbin tension? not catching stitch in FMQ

Old 05-27-2012, 09:01 PM
  #1  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
JanTx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Texas Gulf Coast
Posts: 1,463
Default bobbin tension? not catching stitch in FMQ

All of a sudden when I FMQ the needle will seem to jump and I'll have a stitch that's an inch or so long. If I keep running the machine it will eventually catch and the normal stitches will start to appear. I'm going crazy trying to fix this. No problem with straight sewing. It's as if the bobbin thread is not catching for a stitch or two. I've taken everything apart and removed the dust bunnies, threaded and rethreaded both top and bobbin.... even adjusted the top tension even though it doesn't seem as if this is the issue. I've read the trouble shooting section of the manual.... I have restarted - only to have these big stitches, have the thread break, even had the needle break - over and over and over again. I'm sooooo frustrated.

I'm using a Brother 9000 which has a top loading bobbin. On my older Brother there's a screw in the bobbin case that allows you to adjust the tension, but there's nothing in this to adjust.

Perhaps that's not even the issue ....

suggestions?
JanTx is offline  
Old 05-27-2012, 09:18 PM
  #2  
Super Member
 
auntpiggylpn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Michigan. . .FINALLY!!!!
Posts: 6,726
Default

I think if the tension is appropriate when straight stitching, it might not be a tension problem. I think maybe you are moving your fabric faster than your needle. Does it happen when you FMQ a straight line or perhaps on a curve? When I took my FMQ class, I had this happen alot, especially when I changed directions quickly. Also, the instructor told our class that once you drop your feed dogs, there isn't any tension on the threads, top or bottom. . .
auntpiggylpn is offline  
Old 05-27-2012, 09:25 PM
  #3  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
JanTx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Texas Gulf Coast
Posts: 1,463
Default

Good point - it doesn't have to happen on a curve, but it does happen there. I don't drop the dogs - I'm using an open toed darning foot and leave the dogs up. What's driving me crazy is I've done ... 5 - 6 table toppers and 3 lap quilts with NO trouble then on the last two ... many problems. Perhaps getting overconfident and moving fab too fast??? Slow hands; fast machine is what I'm aiming at.

Your post made me think - my previous projects were mainly meander, though I did one with a flower. This time I'm doing leaves with loops in between the leaves - perhaps this is more direction changes? Have to think on that one. The flowers went off without a hitch, but were more predictable movements....

Thanks for the input. I've put it all on time out and am doing some piecing - then I'll try again.

Last edited by JanTx; 05-27-2012 at 09:44 PM.
JanTx is offline  
Old 05-27-2012, 09:27 PM
  #4  
Super Member
 
auntpiggylpn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Michigan. . .FINALLY!!!!
Posts: 6,726
Default

Originally Posted by JanTx View Post
Good point - it doesn't have to happen on a curve, but it does happen there. I don't drop the dogs - I'm using an open toed darning foot and leave the dogs up. What's driving me crazy is I've done ... 5 - 6 table toppers and 3 lap quilts with NO trouble then on the last two ... many problems. Perhaps getting overconfident and moving fab too fast??? Slow hands; fast machine is what I'm aiming at.

Thanks for the input. I've put it all on time out and am doing some piecing - then I'll try again.
You should try dropping your feed dogs! I don't know how you are FMQ with them up!!! Does the darning foot "hop" up and down? When I do FMQ, I turn the speed on my machine way down, the lowest it will go to prevent me from getting to anxious with my hands! As my confidence and groove improves, I will then turn up the speed on my machine.
auntpiggylpn is offline  
Old 05-27-2012, 09:46 PM
  #5  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
JanTx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Texas Gulf Coast
Posts: 1,463
Default

The foot does not hop. I'll try it, but ... it's worked a charm on everything else.
JanTx is offline  
Old 05-27-2012, 09:48 PM
  #6  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Denver CO
Posts: 121
Default

Recently (April?) Fons and porter had article on fmq and described this....it happens to me too. The lady said as you fmq the needle bends/flexes a bit because everything/fabric is in constant motion and thus the needle/thread timing can not catch resulting in skipped stitches. She said slow doen. There might have been a needle size change suggestion too. It was a good article. I read it in the bookstore but have been meaning to get a copy of it. Hope I described it ok.
lucky_alf2 is offline  
Old 05-27-2012, 10:25 PM
  #7  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
JanTx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Texas Gulf Coast
Posts: 1,463
Default

Okay - did an entire block with no breakage or skipped stitches so Auntpiggylgn you solved the problem. NOW ... tell me how I was able to do the flowers and the meander with the dogs up?

I'm also going sooooo slowly - so both of you nailed that one. Getting over confident, I reckon!
Attached Thumbnails dsc02460.jpg   dsc02459.jpg   dsc02461.jpg   dsc02463.jpg  

Last edited by JanTx; 05-27-2012 at 10:30 PM.
JanTx is offline  
Old 05-27-2012, 10:40 PM
  #8  
Super Member
 
auntpiggylpn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Michigan. . .FINALLY!!!!
Posts: 6,726
Default

Originally Posted by JanTx View Post
Okay - did an entire block with no breakage or skipped stitches so Auntpiggylgn you solved the problem. NOW ... tell me how I was able to do the flowers and the meander with the dogs up?

I'm also going sooooo slowly - so both of you nailed that one. Getting over confident, I reckon!


Pure luck, I would guess!!! Glad you are back in business!!!
auntpiggylpn is offline  
Old 05-28-2012, 12:17 AM
  #9  
Super Member
 
woody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 2,135
Default

My Brother also seems to FMQ better with the feed dogs up, might be just a quirk with Brothers LOL
woody is offline  
Old 05-28-2012, 06:44 AM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
GemState's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northern Idaho
Posts: 476
Default

I don't always put the feed dogs down when I FMQ. Sometimes I feel I have a little better control with them up.
GemState is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
oldsewnsew
For Vintage & Antique Machine Enthusiasts
3
11-30-2013 08:06 PM
Ruby the Quilter
Main
8
05-11-2013 09:28 AM
travlr99
Main
6
01-27-2013 06:40 PM
Dolphyngyrl
Main
1
03-17-2012 10:52 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.