Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Bobbin winding question for Juki TL-2010Q (or 98) owners >

Bobbin winding question for Juki TL-2010Q (or 98) owners

Bobbin winding question for Juki TL-2010Q (or 98) owners

Old 03-14-2013, 03:38 PM
  #1  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
katier825's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: FL
Posts: 7,084
Default Bobbin winding question for Juki TL-2010Q (or 98) owners

I just received my new Juki TL-2010Q machine today. I love it! I did have some trouble winding a bobbin and I don't know if it's just me not interpreting the directions correctly or if there might be some adjustment to make. The first few times, it just kept sounding like it was spinning, but didn't want to catch. I finally got one wound, although it does look like I need to adjust the screw because it winds fuller at the bottom than the top.

Is there a special trick or something I should be checking for? Does the presser foot need to be down when winding? I didn't notice anything like that in the instructions. I surely wish they would put all the English in one section though so I can find my place quicker.
katier825 is offline  
Old 03-14-2013, 04:34 PM
  #2  
Super Member
 
tatavw01's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Rockland County, New York
Posts: 1,498
Default

I made a copy of the instructions in English and made my own book. I thread the thread thru the opening in the bobbin hold until it start winding, when there's some thread on the bobbin I cut the tail and continue winding. This always works for me. Hope this helps.
tatavw01 is offline  
Old 03-14-2013, 04:38 PM
  #3  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
katier825's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: FL
Posts: 7,084
Default

Originally Posted by tatavw01 View Post
I made a copy of the instructions in English and made my own book. I thread the thread thru the opening in the bobbin hold until it start winding, when there's some thread on the bobbin I cut the tail and continue winding. This always works for me. Hope this helps.
Funny you should say that about the instructions...I told my hubby that earlier. I think I will do the same. I did the same for the winding, but the bobbin wasn't spinning. I don't think I'm supposed to slide it over like on my Viking. I think that's what that little arm is for. For some reason, it doesn't want to wind. I will try again tomorrow and see if I have better luck.
katier825 is offline  
Old 03-14-2013, 10:21 PM
  #4  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3,586
Default

On my 98Q you have to twist the bobbin on the spindle until you feel/hear it click all the way down then push the arm over. If it doesn't click, it won't wind.
virtualbernie is offline  
Old 03-15-2013, 08:44 AM
  #5  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Central,CALIF.
Posts: 284
Default

Make sure you fit the notch in bobbin to the proper place on the post...
NUBQ is offline  
Old 03-15-2013, 08:58 AM
  #6  
Super Member
 
sharoney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: South Texas
Posts: 1,968
Default

Be sure to bring the thread through the little metal thingy on the top-back of the machine, make sure the bobbin catches on the little tab when you put it on the winder, and then close the little arm. I hold the loose thread straight up til it winds several times and then cut it. Hope this helps.
sharoney is offline  
Old 03-15-2013, 01:05 PM
  #7  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Timmins, Ont. Canada
Posts: 4,683
Default

Originally Posted by NUBQ View Post
Make sure you fit the notch in bobbin to the proper place on the post...
I second that & I always put a little tension on the thread by gently holding the thread with my fingers (gently) & make sure you have the thread on the proper tension guide on the top of the machine. I have the 98 TL. Hope this helps.
callen is offline  
Old 03-15-2013, 01:33 PM
  #8  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
katier825's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: FL
Posts: 7,084
Default

Is the bobbin supposed to fit snugly on the larger pin? Mine doesn't. Any other machine I've used the bobbin kind of clicked in and didn't move on it's own.

Maybe when I'm holding the thread up the bobbin moved so the little pin wasn't in the groove. I will try again and try to be more careful.
katier825 is offline  
Old 03-15-2013, 04:18 PM
  #9  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
katier825's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: FL
Posts: 7,084
Default

I've got it working now. It was user error! LOL Apparently when I was holding the thread up, I was moving the bobbin and it wasn't sitting properly in the groove. All is well!

I LOVE this machine! The tension has been perfect since I took it out of the box! I think it will be a very quick learning time. My stitches are already so much better tonight than last night. I hope to have some pics uploaded sometime this weekend.

Thanks for your help!
katier825 is offline  
Old 03-15-2013, 06:54 PM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
asimplelife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern Minnesota
Posts: 488
Default

Glad you figured it out! I ADORE mine too (had it since mid January) and it has made quilting fun. I have yet to adjust my tension for anything and I've used several different brands of thread with no problems at all. I even love oiling it.

If I could only find a way to make sandwiching tops fun I would just quilt all the time! It's also great for machine sewn bindings, it handles the bulk with ease.

Have fun!
asimplelife is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
rushdoggie
Main
7
04-13-2020 11:27 AM
azwendyg
Main
5
10-05-2016 12:08 PM
fayeberry
Main
12
02-24-2016 07:03 AM
IngeMK
Main
11
01-01-2015 09:30 AM
katier825
Main
7
03-26-2013 03:29 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


FREE Quilting Newsletter


SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.