Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Thread: Can You Believe Thread was once 35 Cents?

Las Vegas, NV - transplanted from Southeastern PA

Can You Believe Thread was once 35 Cents?

I have been sewing since I was 10 years old (50 years). When my Mom passed away I took all of her sewing supplies. I still have 2 spools of thread with the price still on them, they were 35 cents for 125 yards. They are colors you wouldn't use every day, dark magenta and turquoise. I love thinking of her every time I see them.
    Life should not be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, chocolate in one hand, WINE IN THE OTHER, totally worn out and screaming "WOO HOO, what a ride!"

Blog Entries
    Ha! I remember when gasoline was 29 cents a gallon!!!

Blog Entries
    I have some thread that belonged to my husband's grandmother. She passed away 28 years ago at age 92. She was a wonderful seamstress and quilter. It makes me smile when I look at them. I wonder what she would think about he way we quilt today.
    D
    When life gives you scraps, make a quilt.

lol, me too. i don't think I knew about thread back then, but I remember the gasoline signs as I reclined in the station wagon ;-)
    I have chosen to be happy because it is good for my health - Voltaire

I can top that. I have my grandmother's wooden spools with thread on them and they were 5 cents. They were from the 1930's and I have her Singer sewing machine that she bought for $3.00 per week for 6 months in 1937. I just used it this past week on the quilt I am making and it is still as wonderful for me as it was for her.
    Busy in Ohio

Blog Entries