Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Custom Quilt Question: Please Advise >

Custom Quilt Question: Please Advise

Custom Quilt Question: Please Advise

Old 09-09-2014, 07:49 AM

Default Custom Quilt Question: Please Advise

A friend of mine would like me to make 2 crib quilts for her to give to a friend. She will provide the fabric and I'll make the quilts. What should I charge? The quilts will be simple, but there's still the labor, batting, backing, and thread. I've never done a commission before so any advice wild be appreciated.
Old 09-09-2014, 08:42 AM

There are several previous threads on this issue, so you might look back and find some helpful information. I would suggest you charge her by the hour at a rate that you are comfortable with, and then add on the actual cost of the additional materials you purchase, you can give her the receipt as backup. Maybe give her a range based on the time you expect, but not locking yourself in to a flat rate just incase you encounter problems for some reason. I would think $10-$15 per hour minimum, unless you just want to donate some of your time for a good friend. The last baby quilts I made took about 5-6 hours start to finish with simple straight line and wavy line quilting, including the binding. I wouldn't touch it for less than $50 per quilt plus cost of materials.
Old 09-09-2014, 08:58 AM
Power Poster

I agree with Jeanne. $50 minimum for labor plus the FULL retail cost of all materials. (for instance, if you get the batting on sale, you still charge the full retail price). You also might want to charge a bit extra for your time shopping for the backing, batting etc. unless you are using your stash.
And please, please, please put everything in writing. Doesn't have to be a big formal thing, just both your names, quilt size, estimated price, make 2 copies and both of you sign each one.

Last edited by PaperPrincess; 09-09-2014 at 09:01 AM.
Old 09-09-2014, 09:03 AM
Power Poster