Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Didn't make quilt top big enough. Need advice on enlarging! >

Didn't make quilt top big enough. Need advice on enlarging!

Didn't make quilt top big enough. Need advice on enlarging!

Old 11-13-2013, 04:47 PM

Default Didn't make quilt top big enough. Need advice on enlarging!

Here is the quilt top I started. It is 33.5 inches by 40 inches. It is my first attempt using the twister tool and I really had no idea how many squares to use to get one large top. I really want something about 55 x 70. Attached is additional fabric I have purchased. I thought about framing it with the twister squares and white on all 4 sides then sashing and binding with the yardage. I thought about cutting the additional squares in half, sewing together in narrow strips and framing around the existing middle, or just simply sewing the squares into strips and framing the middle...help me figure something out! Majority rules!!
Attached Thumbnails image.jpg  
Old 11-13-2013, 04:53 PM
RST

Consider making a bunch more twister blocks? You could add scrappy twister bits even with the white deal you've got going there-- it would end up feeling like an internal frame effect and could look kind of cool.

It's very much a matter of taste, but I personally don't like wide borders or multiple borders on a smaller quilt -- to me they look out of proportion and detract from the design. If you're not inclined to make it bigger with more twisters, I'd seriously consider just accepting that this is a wall or table topper size and embracing it as is.
Old 11-13-2013, 08:07 PM

I really like your quilt top! I am, however, no good at visualizing anything. I just have to try out ideas and see what happens. I just wanted to say I like what you have done so far. Just too cute!!

Dina
Old 11-13-2013, 08:15 PM
Power Poster

Originally Posted by RST View Post