Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Does anyone have a Easyquilter III and do you like it? >

Does anyone have a Easyquilter III and do you like it?

Does anyone have a Easyquilter III and do you like it?

Old 09-20-2010, 02:42 AM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
bisbetica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Pottstown, PA
Posts: 184
Default

I went to a quilt show this past weekend and found the Easyquilter III. It's only $500 and turns your regular sewing machine into a longarm of sorts. I tried it out and liked it very much, but I would like the opinions of others who have it and see what you think.

http://www.easyquilter.com/eq3%20track.htm
bisbetica is offline  
Old 09-20-2010, 02:47 AM
  #2  
Super Member
 
AlwaysQuilting's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,665
Default

I don't have it but I'll be interested in what others say too.
AlwaysQuilting is offline  
Old 09-20-2010, 04:00 AM
  #3  
Super Member
 
leatheflea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: martinsville Indiana
Posts: 4,461
Default

If you search easy quiter on this board you'll find all kinds of opions. I think its like with anything else you'll find your loves and loves not. I did some reasearch on it a couple of years ago and it looks fairly simple to make. Theres a cheaper model of it on youtube. I know its in one of the posts here. I'll see if I can find it.
leatheflea is offline  
Old 09-20-2010, 04:20 AM
  #4  
Super Member
 
leatheflea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: martinsville Indiana
Posts: 4,461
Default

This guy has a simular frame. I found replacement wheels online for a gracie i believe, I think I could make one for under $200, well DH could...LOL

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F24UUQdBW5I
leatheflea is offline  
Old 09-20-2010, 04:29 AM
  #5  
Super Member
 
QuiltswithConvicts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,811
Default

I have a Handi-Quilter. It's similar, but longer - adjustable. I don't use it much BECAUSE - as you are quilting away, the finished portion is rolled up on a bar that fits in the space between the machine's needle and the head (called the harp). The more you quilt, the larger the roll gets. Pretty soon, you are left with about 2" of space for your needle to move around. I have not tried it with my Janome 6600P. I gave up using it when I was working on a queen-size quilt & could only get 1/2 way across & I had it on the frame length-wise!
QuiltswithConvicts is offline  
Old 09-20-2010, 04:48 AM
  #6  
Super Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3,536
Default

Same here, same reason - used my Janome with it - didn't like keeping it up the whole time and too lazy to put it up, take it down, etc.

Originally Posted by QuiltswithConvicts
I have a Handi-Quilter. It's similar, but longer - adjustable. I don't use it much BECAUSE - as you are quilting away, the finished portion is rolled up on a bar that fits in the space between the machine's needle and the head (called the harp). The more you quilt, the larger the roll gets. Pretty soon, you are left with about 2" of space for your needle to move around. I have not tried it with my Janome 6600P. I gave up using it when I was working on a queen-size quilt & could only get 1/2 way across & I had it on the frame length-wise!
stitchinwitch is offline  
Old 09-20-2010, 05:19 AM
  #7  
Super Member
 
fireworkslover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: St. Cloud, Minnesota
Posts: 1,653
Default

Originally Posted by bisbetica
I went to a quilt show this past weekend and found the Easyquilter III. It's only $500 and turns your regular sewing machine into a longarm of sorts. I tried it out and liked it very much, but I would like the opinions of others who have it and see what you think.

http://www.easyquilter.com/eq3%20track.htm
I saw one at the MN Quilt Show, in June and bought one. It works slick. You might need to adjust your machine to make it be the same height as the rails ( I just put one of my rotary rulers underneath the machine). It does take practice using it tho. I've learned to fmq on my machine, so this is different. I also have had trouble making round circles, they end up being squarish circles. You also need to have lots more backing to wrap around the rails or can't fmq right up to the edge of your top. A learning curve for sure.
fireworkslover is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
dukieky
Main
7
07-02-2010 07:47 AM
Scotiajane
Main
0
10-02-2008 01:49 PM
KATHY D
Main
5
04-12-2008 05:47 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.