Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
FMQ with batiks?? >

FMQ with batiks??

FMQ with batiks??

Old 09-18-2018, 12:23 PM
  #1  
Super Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 2,469
Default FMQ with batiks??

Any tips on FMQ with batiks? I've always said they weren't any different on my machine. That was before I did a Carpenter Star center on a quilt - all batiks. Where the seams come together is stopping the stitching. The only thing I can think is stay away from the busy intersections as much as possible, but the orange peel design keeps coming back to the points. To make it harder, I painted one section of the star to lighten the color, so that part is stiff. Singer 301, 40 wt thread, size 14 Schmetz quilting needle.

I'm wrong - I did do another Carpenter Star in batiks, used the same orange peel design and didn't have any issues. The difference - an Organ size 11 needle. But lately my machine wants a larger needle to FMQ.

I got up enough nerve to start quilting a king size and and a have problem already. Ah, well, such is life.
Irishrose2 is offline  
Old 09-18-2018, 12:58 PM
  #2  
Power Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 38,347
Default

​Batiks can cause FMQ problems. I changed to a larger needle and that seemed to help but it was still a pain.
Tartan is offline  
Old 09-18-2018, 04:32 PM
  #3  
Power Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 16,905
Default

Not just a larger needle .... but what type are you using?
You need a really sharp needle.
Try Embroidery, Topstitch and/or Microtex needles.
QuiltE is offline  
Old 09-19-2018, 04:23 AM
  #4  
Super Member
 
Watson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,624
Default

I prefer a Microtex Sharp in an 80. These are thin, so you have to replace them more often.

Watson
Watson is offline  
Old 09-19-2018, 11:50 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Philomath,Ore
Posts: 499
Default

I've always used a 70 needle and thin thread, no problems, oh, and always a topstitch needle.
Bjbaxter is offline  
Old 09-19-2018, 01:50 PM
  #6  
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Ridgecrest, CA
Posts: 227
Default

I always use a 90/14 Topstitch needle (titanium coated, by Superior) for my free-motion quilting. I say that because I usually use batiks and yes they are a little harder to stitch through. And when I have more than six layers of fabric in a corner, I usually use the hand wheel to plow through four or six stitches.
M cubed is offline  
Old 09-19-2018, 04:39 PM
  #7  
Super Member
 
meanmom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Fairfield, OH
Posts: 3,694
Default

Another site suggested using a Denim needle. I have used it on some quilts and it worked really well. I use mostly batiks.
meanmom is offline  
Old 09-19-2018, 07:53 PM
  #8  
Super Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4,630
Default

I use denim needles or topstitch needles -- I prefer the titanium. As for size -- it depends on the thread you use.
QuiltnLady1 is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
AngelinaMaria
Main
20
05-29-2012 10:01 AM
luvTooQuilt
Member Swaps and Round/Row Robins
318
04-30-2012 09:27 PM
oksewglad
Main
17
01-23-2012 09:15 PM
debbieumphress
Pictures
112
05-16-2011 07:17 PM
just_the_scraps_m'am
Links and Resources
1
03-26-2010 11:12 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


FREE Quilting Newsletter


SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.