Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
free motion quilting >

free motion quilting

free motion quilting

Old 10-05-2014, 06:51 AM

Default free motion quilting

I am very new to this and am trying to teach myself how to do it. No matter what I do I can't move my fabric smoothly under the presser foot. I is very tight even with the feed dogs done. The presser foot is at zero (darn) but is pushing down to hard on the fabric.......????????????????????
Old 10-05-2014, 07:01 AM
Power Poster

You need a FMQ foot or darning foot with the little spring in it. Some machines cone with a darning or FMQ foot but others need to purchase one. What brand of machine are you working on? If you go to Leah day's site, she has videos of her quilting designs with a FNQ foot and you can get some tips. I think it is www.freemotionquilting.blogspot.com/
Old 10-05-2014, 08:33 AM

I agree. There is no FMQ without a darning foot. Also need to make sure to set your Stitch Length to 0. After that, it should be easy to move fabric, but getting even stitches is a whole 'nother problem. I'd suggest buying a yard or two of practice fabric and some batting for that so you can practice FMQ without worrying about ruining your quilt top. FMQ does not come instantly. It takes about 8 hours of practice to get the movements down.
Old 10-05-2014, 09:19 AM
Power Poster

There are so many "tricks of the trade" to learn in order to do FMQ successfully you really need to be able to watch u-tube videos, take an online class or find out a class schedule at your LQS. What type of foot did you have on your DSM?? A darning foot has a metal round circle as the foot. Check your manual to see if one was included with your DSM.
Old 10-05-2014, 09:30 AM
Power Poster