Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Grace Z44 Fabri-Fast Hand Quilting Frame Question >

Grace Z44 Fabri-Fast Hand Quilting Frame Question

Grace Z44 Fabri-Fast Hand Quilting Frame Question

Old 02-28-2013, 05:36 PM

Smile Grace Z44 Fabri-Fast Hand Quilting Frame Question

I plan on ordering my Grace Z44 tomorrow. I found it as little as $330 and will fit up to a KIng. http://www.sewingmachinesplus.com/gr...vpnAodJSkAaQ#I have a question for you kind ladies. I have never used a frame before. Freehand and hoop are all I have used. As I have been doing some research, do I need this: http://www.ebay.com/itm/Grace-Hand-Q...-/390067750408 I'm not sure what they mean by "leader material". Also, is there anything else I need to order? Thanks so much in advance!
Old 02-28-2013, 06:28 PM

I don't have a Grace frame, but I do use a floor frame for hand quilting.

Leader material is the fabric you attach to the poles. Your top and backing will be attached to the leader fabric - I use pins. The leader material doesn't have to be any special fabric - I used some ugly yardage as leaders on my first frame. It needs to be sturdy enough to hold up to pin basting, but not so heavy you can't pin through it easily.

If you have any Grace specific questions, I bet the Grace Company will be happy to answer any questions.

Good luck!

Janet
Old 02-28-2013, 09:03 PM

I have a Z44 that I purchased over ten years ago. It has the wooden poles and I have to attach my leaders by thumb tacks. I understand the new frames are metal and have a different method for attaching the leaders. I also have leaders for the sides, but I believe the newer Z44s have bungie cords for the sides. I would strongly recommend those. I used my frame for basting because I never mastered quilting away from myself. However, I've given strong thought to getting my frame back out of storage and giving it another try. Congratulations on your new frame. I know now excited you must be. Keep us up to date on your progress.