Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Hello. Great Board >

Hello. Great Board

Hello. Great Board

Old 12-08-2006, 03:17 PM

Hi I am also new to quilting and applique. Great questions and answers. My question is what is a pressing applique cloth and how do you get you pattern centered correctly? I just tried to applique a Christmas ornament wall hanging from Quilting Magazine and I didn't know how to place my applique pieces correctly by using the pattern for the layout. Do you copy or trace the pattern layout onto your fabric? :oops: Does anyone understand what I am trying to say?
Old 12-08-2006, 04:10 PM

Hi Sondra,
No I don't understand what your saying about applying your applique, I think I understand what your saying about an applique pressing cloth, It's a teflon sheet, you can get it at Joanns, It's not like the teflon you mite be envisioning, in reference to a teflon skillet, It's a clear frosted sheet, and it comes in quiet handy. There are a lot of good quilters on this board and you'll get answers to about all your questions. Welcome and enjoy,
Oh yes just an FYI my name is Becky, I live in GA, I've been quilting for 15 yrs, I love quilting.
Old 12-08-2006, 07:22 PM

I think I get what you're asking! When I transfer a pattern, I tape the paper pattern to a light box or a bright window. Then tape or place the background fabric over the pattern and lightly glue-stick the applique in place. Or do a tracing, either way. I haven't tried the Teflon sheet yet, tho I have one. Try this website for more info on that technique:
www.valeriehearder.com/teflonprint.htm
Old 12-09-2006, 03:34 AM

Thanks for the info on that site,One I'll add to my list.
Old 12-09-2006, 02:47 PM