Go Back  Quiltingboard Forums > Main
Help with Hand Quilting! >

Help with Hand Quilting!

Help with Hand Quilting!

Old 01-26-2013, 08:38 PM

Default Help with Hand Quilting!

I am very new to this.. never done this before.. Working on a project that a lady had started hand quilting and was over half way done with it.. so I want to finish it! .. I can not get down the whole "rocking" with a thimble thing... I am doing it but my seams are still far apart! .. Any helps? .. It was in a hoop, but I took it out and it seemed to work better for me without one.
Old 01-26-2013, 09:27 PM
Power Poster

A frequent beginner mistake is to hoop too tightly. There should be about 4" of "give" in the quilt after you have hooped -- meaning you should be able to move the quilt 2" or so up and 2" or so down. It should *never* be drum tight. You are probably finding it easier to quilt without a hoop because you are able to move the fabric now. I have tried hand quilting both ways, and have much better stitch quality when I use a hoop -- but hoop very loosely.

What size needle are you using? Smaller stitches come with practice. If I were you, I would create a practice sandwich before tackling an actual quilt.

Aim first for making even stitches, all the same length. Once you are pretty good at that, you can start trying to make your stitches smaller. It is more important to have even stitches than small stitches.
Old 01-26-2013, 09:32 PM

When I tried hand quilting I had the same problem. My stitches were far apart and they didn't look very defined. I kept sticking the finger on the bottom and the thimbles kept flying off. I haven't gone back to hand quilting after that but I want to so badly so I can have something to take with me to work on when I'm not home.

Last edited by wpbmommy1; 01-26-2013 at 09:34 PM.
Old 01-26-2013, 11:29 PM