Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 26 to 50 of 81

Thread: How often do you change your needle?

  1. #26
    Power Poster alikat110's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Waco, Texas
    Posts
    15,191
    Blog Entries
    9
    I adhere to the strict rules of the quilt police and change my needle every.....wait, what quilting police? Hehehe....i just change mine when I notice a diffetence in my machine stitching...n

  2. #27
    Super Member Pat P's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    1,218
    Blog Entries
    17
    Whenever I start to have problems. Was quilting a taffeta vest and it was skipping large stiches then the thread was fraying. changed the bobbin, rethreaded, still same problem. change to a needle with a large eye voila no more problems. Usually change needle after quilting King or, Queen.

  3. #28
    Junior Member simplyme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Porter, TX
    Posts
    133
    I too just got some titanium needles and will see how they work. Before I would change my needles when the thread started to break or machine started to make a funny sound. On my new Bernina I change the needle all the time just in case because the machine cost so much. I want to get some of the titanium needles for my quilting machine if they make then. The ones I bought for my Brother do not fit my HQ.

  4. #29
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    155
    I guess I'm odd because I have a "method" for this.

    I have a little plastic case that I keep my bobbins and needles in. I clean my machine after 5 bobbins and change my needle after 10 bobbins.

    So, I only wind 5 bobbins at a time. Once they are gone I clean the machine, wind up 5 more, put my needles into the slot closest to the new wound bobbins, and begin stitching again. Once those bobbins are gone I clean my machine and remember it is time to change the needle because the needles are in the slot beside my bobbins. After this I then put the needles in the far left slot so I know that I did it.

    Sad how anal I am, but too many other things going on in a regular day and it is the only way I can remember to do these things.

    Suzanne

  5. #30
    Super Member MaryKatherine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Guelph, On. -
    Posts
    1,746
    Blog Entries
    2
    when it Breaks.. shame on me?
    MK

  6. #31
    Super Member jitkaau's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    4,118
    It's already too late when you hear the pop but that does it for me too!

  7. #32
    Super Member Happy Tails's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Timberlea, Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    1,275
    Speaking of needles.....when piecing a quilt top, what size needle do you use?

  8. #33
    Senior Member Jan in FL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Gig Harbor WA
    Posts
    387
    Religiously with every break ....

  9. #34
    Super Member quilt3311's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Nebraska
    Posts
    1,867
    Titanium needles last way longer than the regular ones. I change when I remember, which sometimes is a LONG time.

  10. #35
    Super Member Dolphyngyrl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    5,805
    every new project for me

  11. #36
    Senior Member lfletcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Texas Hill Country
    Posts
    941
    On my longarm, I change the needle with each quilt. On my Janome, I change it when I start having problems or hear the popping sound.

  12. #37
    Super Member Dodie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Wyoming
    Posts
    1,427
    Blog Entries
    1
    guess I am to fussy as I change with each new project and also size according to thread used some require a larger needle eye but I do lots od different things

  13. #38
    Junior Member QuilterChick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Lake Suzy FL
    Posts
    221
    Quote Originally Posted by BellaBoo
    I switched to all titanium coated machine needles. They stay sharp much longer then regular needles. It's been months since I changed because of the needle being dull.
    Something to consider. I was told by my Pfaff service techie not to use titanium needles, because they will do more harm to your machine and bobbin assembly/hook etc. because they don't break. Haven't used one since.

  14. #39
    Super Member Glassquilt's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Northeast IL
    Posts
    2,064
    Blog Entries
    1
    I'm still hoping to make some sort of connection between changing needle and changing blade.

  15. #40
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Alturas, CA
    Posts
    8,497
    Whenever I need to, which isn't anywhere close to 8 hours of sewing. I might change to a slightly bigger needle when doing actual machine quilting, but after I'm done, I put the same smaller needle back in and put the one I just used, back in my pin cushion. Personally, I think the needle makers say 8 hours, so you'll buy more needles.

  16. #41
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    1,299
    Usually when it makes a "pop" sound or breaks! My bad!!

  17. #42
    Super Member Caswews's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Quilting, crocheting, sewing and crafting in my Sewing Room...Peaceful and wonderful !!
    Posts
    5,312
    Quote Originally Posted by BellaBoo
    I switched to all titanium coated machine needles. They stay sharp much longer then regular needles. It's been months since I changed because of the needle being dull.
    and where did you find such a needle ?Pray tell !

  18. #43
    a regular here sarahsews's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    94
    I discovered that needles can be "sharpened" with the emory stone that came with my Gingher scissors.

  19. #44
    MTS
    MTS is offline
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    4,301
    Quote Originally Posted by Caswews
    Quote Originally Posted by BellaBoo
    I switched to all titanium coated machine needles. They stay sharp much longer then regular needles. It's been months since I changed because of the needle being dull.
    and where did you find such a needle ?Pray tell !
    Superior Threads
    http://www.superiorthreads.com/produ...words=titanium

  20. #45
    Super Member Scissor Queen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Southwest Kansas
    Posts
    4,829
    Quote Originally Posted by MaryKatherine
    when it Breaks.. shame on me?
    MK
    I think I've broken maybe 4 needles at the most in the last 12 years. If I waited until they broke, I'd be sewing with a stub!

    Change those needles! A good place to buy reasonable priced needles is, http://www.discountembroiderysupply.com/

    A sharp needle is better for your project AND your machine!

  21. #46
    Senior Member Kath12's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Clinton, IA
    Posts
    408
    I too don't change them often enough. I don't change them after every project because a lot of the time it is a small project. So I do it when I think it has been in there long enough. I do clean the bobbin case out often.

  22. #47
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Cape Cod, Ma
    Posts
    484
    I change mine after about 10 hours of quilting. I am anxious to try the new titaium needles.

  23. #48
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Prescott Valley, AZ
    Posts
    1,332
    I can't afford to change my needle if it doesn't need it. I wait for it to break, bend, or pop. Same with rotary cutter blades. When it doesn't cut clean I change it.

  24. #49
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Atoka, Tn
    Posts
    201
    Quote Originally Posted by Glassquilt
    The thread about rotary cutters got me thinking. How often do I change my needle compared to how often do I change my rotary blade? If the needle needs to be changed every so many hours, maybe I could tie my blades to that.

    I usually change when I hear the needle 'pop' while going through the fabric.
    Your avatar is beautiful...

  25. #50
    Senior Member smcfadden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Smithville, TX
    Posts
    565
    I didn't even know you're supposed to change them regularly until I had my problems with my machine at a quilting class! Afterwards, I rushed over to the shop where I bought my machine to see what was wrong. The helpful salesperson told me that I should change it after every 8 hrs. or so of sewing. It immediately fixed the problem. Who knew? Now I do.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.