Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Thread: How to store fabrics?

I am brand new to all this, and just bought a bunch of fabric at the sales. How to you store your fabric. And does it get crease marks from the folds over time?

Blog Entries
    Me too...I have seen some ideas but I do not have a large area for storage or a large book self....I am thinking smaller white containers on wheels. Joanne has them on sale today. My closet is full of fabric and just seems so messy. I organize it...but as soon as I need some fabric it becomes a mess.

I store mine out of direct sunlight and refold every now and again as I do my quilts. Refolding usually happens when I get a whim to clean my sewing room!!

mine are just folded up on a bookshelf. They are in the basement w/ minimal sunlight..

I store my small fabric pieces by color in clear boxes. I've heard that plastic is not good for them but I haven't had a problem. Creases do form over time and I don't refold them..... I have a lot of fabric. I just iron out the creases when I'm ready to use them. Spraying with a little spray sizing helps keep my small pieces firm till they are sewn into a quilt. Don't used starch..... it's made of grain that attracts critters.

I have mine in plastic bins with lids - even though we are told not to do this. I put plenty of natural camphor wood chips in each bin. If i leave the stuff in cardboard or cloth bags, the silverfish and moths get into it and I can't afford that. The creases iron out OK.
    When the quilt is finished, I roll it and put it inside a tyvec bag.

Quote Originally Posted by carolaug