Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Juki TL98Q Questions concerns etc......

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Posts
    18

    Juki TL98Q Questions concerns etc......

    I am just learning how to use one that was given to me. It has a stitch regulator. I am curious how everyone that has this machine deals with the 6 pantograph? I was soooooo hoping since it said it had a 9 inch space I would be able to do bigger. A little sad.

  2. #2
    Moderator QuiltnNan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    western NY formerly MN, FL, NC, SC
    Posts
    48,070
    Blog Entries
    53
    yes, it is sad. I had a 98Q on a frame, and with the rolling of the quilt, the longest/tallest design I could do was 4".
    Nancy in western NY
    before you speak T.H.I.N.K.
    T is it True? H is it Helpful? I is it Inspiring? N is it Necessary? K is it Kind?

    Life may not be the party we hoped for, but while we are here we might as well dance.

  3. #3
    Power Poster sewbizgirl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Mississippi
    Posts
    19,211
    I have the TL2010Q, which is the upgrade but still very similar to your machine. Someone must have put a stitch regulator on it, as they didn't come with them originally.

    Why don't you ditch the panto and try some FMQ on it, as big as you want? That machine is great at FMQ. I've used mine to quilt big quilts, before I bought a Juki longarm.

    Have fun! It's a great machine.

    *editing to add: My advice assumes your machine is not in a frame. If it is, then yes you are limited to the length of the throat. I don't believe I would use that machine in a frame....
    Last edited by sewbizgirl; 04-09-2019 at 11:09 AM.
    http://www.etsy.com/shop/sewbizgirl
    Boom 20 Album of Blocks I made to swap https://www.quiltingboard.com/member...bums19942.html
    "The reward of a thing well done is having done it." -- Ralph Waldo Emerson

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Posts
    18
    Sewbiz, its in a pinnacle frame. So, yes sad.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Posts
    18
    Quiltnan, I forgot about rolling it. Ugh thanks lol

  6. #6
    Power Poster Jingle's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Outside St. Louis
    Posts
    33,956
    My Juki TL98QE does not have stitch regulator. I don't have it on a frame and I mostly do FMQ and love it.
    Another Phyllis
    This life is the only one you get - enjoy it before you lose it.

  7. #7
    Super Member Shelbie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,980
    We tried using my Juki TL98Q on a frame with a stitch regulator. We quilted a couple of baby quilts (did a good job) but we quickly realized that this set up would be too small to handle the many Community Quilts and QOV’s that we do. We then purchased an APQS Lenni in October 2016 and have quilted more than 400 quilts.
    Shelbie from the High County in Southern Ontario

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Posts
    18
    Jingle, so far I am loving this machine. It has beautiful stitches. I am kind of fighting the FMQ because (this is going to sound crazy) I hate all that fabric around. I like that frame keeps it all neat and tidy. I am a hand quilter. But that being said, this is really a nice little machine and I am slipping to the dark side. Lol
    Shelbie, we are waiting on a part to come in and my mom is already looking into a Q’nique r15. Because she doesn’t think we will be happy with doing small pantographs.? But I am finding out, its not unusual to make 2 passes on larger pantographs?

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    166
    You can "baste" your quilts for FMQ on your set up. Just baste with a long stitch every 3-4". Now the quilt is really stable to FMQ or hand quilt. I do this on my longarm for hand quilters. They can work on it for years without pins and it will stay stable. Could also FMQ and then remove the thread. I love my Juki. I have 2. Workhorse. Beautiful stitch.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Posts
    18
    Patchwork, do you mind me asking what kind of Juki’s do you have?

  11. #11
    Super Member ScubaK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    South Puget Sound, Wa. State
    Posts
    2,363
    I have a small throat machine on a frame. Yes, it it a pain to only be able to quilt about 4/5" inches before you have to roll again. But, it has given me the opportunity to see if I want a larger machine and do I have the aptitude for machine quilting. I can only do a queen size so still have had to send my larger quilts out.
    Hope you are enjoying it
    Kirsten
    I try and be as good of a human as my dogs think I am.

  12. #12
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Davenport, Iowa
    Posts
    2,135
    I have a Janome 1600 on a frame and the largest I can do is maybe 6 inches accounting for the roll up bar. I've learned to take my longest 6 inch ruler and a Crayola washable marker and mark off a space that I can safely quilt in. It does limit me to the designs I can quilt, but I can live with that. 6 inches is better than nothing!

  13. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    166
    I have a 2010 and a 300f

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Posts
    18
    Super sad. Got new encoder arm and it is still skipping stitches one way. Thinking it is out of time? I have changed needles, thread, bobbin and anything else.....i have broken needles. Getting frustrated.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.