Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: My son

My son

let me know over the weekend while sorting through thread that he would like to learn sewing. He not only wants to learn how to quilt, but he wants to also do clothing. I have NO problems in teaching him the quilting, but as for clothing, I haven't done anything like that since I took home economics back in high school, many many moons ago. As for quilting, I am self taught and online classes and you tube.

Any and all suggestions in helping him would be greatly appreciated. He is 16.

TIA
    http://www.OutlawTheWicks.com

Get him a sewing for dummies book. Very easy to understand and has simple projects to start. I think it is wonderful he wants to learn to sew. It is a life skill and not just a girly thing. I wish him the best!!!
    Sue

Power Poster
    Might start with shorts - or pajama bottoms. Very forgiving as to sizing!

Then pillow cases.

Blog Entries
    I think I would start out with some very basic sewing classes (web classes). There are some very easy and great patterns that would be ideal for a young man to start with (simple pajama pants and shorts). Also let him sew your 1/4 seams and get a feel for sewing straight lines.
    Joyce

Four things you can't recover: The stone.....after the throw. The word......after its said. The occasion.....after its missed. The time......after its gone

Jo-Ann's usually offers sewing classes for teens as well as beginning sewing. My 19-year old daughter had a friend of mine teach her how to read and cut using a pattern last summer. My friend taught her all the basics and now my daughter is a sewing fiend