Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 71

Thread: Need your opinion please ....

  1. #1
    Power Poster sewnsewer2's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    16,756

    Need your opinion please ....

    I need your opinion on what color of sashing for a wall quilt I am making. It's a challenge. I have to use 4 of the fabrics that came in a bag I bought. I used them in the flip flops. Now I need an opinion on the sashing.

    There's a $25 giftcard for a LQS to be awarded to the winner. The customers will be voteing.

    Thanks!
    Attached Images Attached Images

    Grandma of 5 beautiful grand kids, 4 crazy cats & 1 dog!

  2. #2
    Senior Member billswife99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Lexington, OK
    Posts
    734
    Both look great but if I had to choose, it would be the pink!
    JENELL

  3. #3
    Power Poster
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    22,354
    I think the blocks show up better on the pink.
    Great job on the flipflops - are they three-dimensional?

  4. #4
    Senior Member kareno's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    337
    Love them both! But I agree the second one is a bit better!

  5. #5
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Baton Rouge, Louisiana
    Posts
    1,612
    I like the pink and would edge it with Navy blue. Hugs

  6. #6
    Senior Member 1000scraps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    377
    Blog Entries
    1
    Flip flops remind me of blue water at the sea side, so I would prefer a blue sashing if possible!!!

  7. #7
    Super Member GramaLaura's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Georgetown TX
    Posts
    4,378
    Great flip flops!!! I like the pink
    Grama Laura

  8. #8
    Cyn
    Cyn is offline
    Super Member Cyn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Jacksonville NC
    Posts
    6,761
    Blog Entries
    17
    My vote is for Pink

  9. #9
    Senior Member Three Dog Night's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Western Washington
    Posts
    477
    I really like the pink. Beautiful flip flops. Good luck on the challenge.

  10. #10
    Power Poster alikat110's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Waco, Texas
    Posts
    15,192
    Blog Entries
    9
    Pretty in pink!

  11. #11
    Senior Member zzmom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    864
    Blog Entries
    1
    There is something about the pink that makes it looks really nice, perhaps it is the pattern in the fabric? Very cute flip-flops!
    It is not the mountain we conquer but ourselves.
    Edmund Hillary

  12. #12
    Super Member ArtsyOne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Canadian in Minnesota
    Posts
    3,061
    I like both. Since you have 5 blocks, have you thought about putting them on the diagonal?
    A fabric stash is always missing that one fabric needed to finish the quilt on which you're working.

  13. #13
    Power Poster dunster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Lake Elsinore, CA
    Posts
    13,714
    I like the pink too if you're only using one - but have you considered using both? Frame the (very cute!) flip flops in alternate colors?

  14. #14
    Power Poster mighty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Upland CA
    Posts
    18,358
    I love them both, I guess if I have to choose I will pick Hmmm Pink!!!

  15. #15
    Power Poster sewnsewer2's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    16,756
    Quote Originally Posted by bearisgray View Post
    I think the blocks show up better on the pink.
    Great job on the flipflops - are they three-dimensional?
    THANKS EVERYONE!!!!! I thought the pink too. Yes, they are kinda 3D. I used ribbon for the straps & buttons on some, and the others are embroidered.

    OOPS! I guess I should have mentioned I am going to embroider Flip Flops for Summer in the blank blocks.
    Grandma of 5 beautiful grand kids, 4 crazy cats & 1 dog!

  16. #16
    Junior Member mimmy96's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    246
    I love the pink as well!!

  17. #17
    Power Poster lynnie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Long Island
    Posts
    24,421
    Blog Entries
    1
    I love the idea and the embroidery treatments. my fav color is pink and aqua but the yellow looks more summery to me.

  18. #18
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    2,642
    I vote for pink

  19. #19
    Super Member bjchad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Southern New Jersey USA
    Posts
    1,473
    Of the two, definitely the pink. The blocks stand out better.

  20. #20
    Super Member quilter2theend's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Western New York
    Posts
    1,071
    Yep, pink and what about a binding that would look like sand? Or the fabric that is in the top right pair of flip-flops?

  21. #21
    Power Poster Tweety2911's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    17,443
    Blog Entries
    3
    Flip flops are so cute! The pink looks better. Any dark color for contrast would look good.
    Helen T.

  22. #22
    Super Member TerryQuilter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Vista, CA
    Posts
    1,515
    Love the flip flops! I think the pink makes them pop more.
    The Trike Riding Quilting Diva

  23. #23
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    8,666
    Pink gets my vote!

  24. #24
    Power Poster sewnsewer2's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    16,756
    Thanks everyone, I took your advise and went with the pink! I'll post it.
    Grandma of 5 beautiful grand kids, 4 crazy cats & 1 dog!

  25. #25
    Power Poster gabeway's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Kansas City, MO
    Posts
    10,489
    Pink is better of two but agree blue would pop it.
    Wayne & Gabriele, the married quilters.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.