Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: Opinions on Handi Quilter 16?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    the mountains
    Posts
    72

    Opinions on Handi Quilter 16?

    I'm looking on line at the Handi Quilter 16. I haven't tried one in person. I'd sure appreciate hearing from folks who have one. I'm wondering if the sit down model is a good choice. Thanks so much.
    SheSews (when she can)

  2. #2
    Power Poster Sadiemae's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    11,454
    Blog Entries
    20
    I don't know about the sit down model, but the HQ 16 is a great machine. HQ is also awesome with their customer support.
    Sadiemae

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    the mountains
    Posts
    72
    Appreciate your comments.
    SheSews (when she can)

  4. #4
    Super Member SuzyQ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    1,244
    I would suggest joining the yahoo group for the HQ sitdown and be sure to look at the pics. There is one member who does incredible thread painting with his machine. I'm a wannabe so I have no suggestions for you :-)

    Suzy

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Central Indiana
    Posts
    854
    I had the HQ16 stand-up model and loved it so much I upgraded to the HQ18 Avante!!!!!!!!!!!!! The sit down would be great if you have less space available or cannot stand for long periods of time. HQ has great support--ask me how I kinow. I have investged in the prostitcher for mine and love it. I also do free motion but there are great patterns out there too. A local dealer is a great bonus but I get my help directly from HQ via the phone.

  6. #6
    Power Poster ckcowl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Northern Michigan
    Posts
    11,192
    Blog Entries
    1
    it is best to visit shows & dealers & try out (test drive) as many different machines you can get your hands on before choosing one- there are many to choose from and just like driving a car they are a large expense-investment- you want to get the one that (fits you) best- don't just buy one you read about on line-
    you need to take into account service, tech support, set up, delivery, lots of things- it is best to find ones in person and try them out- most quilt shows have one or more set up for you to try out-dealers usually have demo ones set up-i've had an hq-16 for 8 years- i have a good relationship with my machine- i have a friend who had one- for 3 years- she managed to quilt 2 quilts on it in that 3 years- and was always upset-frustrated- unhappy with it--right up until she sold it- and lost about $5000 in the process....
    hiding away in my stash where i'm warm, safe and happy

  7. #7
    Power Poster joyce888's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    10,642
    Blog Entries
    1
    It's so good to see this thread and get all the opinions from owners. I will be attending a quilt show this weekend and HQ is what I'm interested in.
    Joyce

    Four things you can't recover: The stone.....after the throw. The word......after its said. The occasion.....after its missed. The time......after its gone

  8. #8
    Senior Member QuiltNama's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Duluth/ Superior, WI
    Posts
    934
    I have the HQ16 stand up model and love it. Great customer service and a very easy machine to use.

  9. #9
    Super Member AliKat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    2,890
    I have the regular HQ16 that I upgraded to include the ProStitcher and stuff. I love it.

    I remember seeing the HQ Sweet 16 [sit down] years ago and someone had made a cradle for the quilt, so that it was somewhat suspended over the sitdown HQ and the the quilt didn't have any drag. It was a really neat set up and if I hadn't had my heart set on the HQ16 and gotten a good price on a used one, I would have considered it. I just e-mailed the person who is my source for this to see if it is still being made or if there is a pattern for it. If you PM me in a few days, I can let you know more.

    ali
    Have fun quilting! If it isn't fun, you will miss a lot.
    ali

  10. #10
    Super Member patski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Tucson AZ
    Posts
    1,978
    Blog Entries
    9
    Love it, I sold my long arm(took up so much space & my legs ached after standing for hours) I have the 16 and is a dream, just oil it and go go go. It is easy to learn and does a wonderful job.I haveeven done a kingsize quilt on it!
    Patski
    always learning

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Salt Lake City area
    Posts
    692
    I have the sitdown version of the HQ Sweet 16. I love it! I have tried long arms on a frame, and my back just doesn't like it. I also discovered that I like to put my hands on the fabric LOL! I just really enjoy the tactile feeling of moving the fabric rather than the machine. You really need to try the various versions and see what works best for you.

    I have had no trouble with my machine. My dealer set it up at their shop and did some test sewing. I then took it home and haven't needed to go back since! In the 8 months I've had it I have quilted a dozen or more placemats, 3 table runners, 2 wall hangings, and 5 baby/lap size quilts. In the previous 3 years I had quilted a wall hanging and one baby quilt on my domestic machine! If you are comfortable adjusting your machine, you'll have no problem. If you expect it to handle all variations of batting and threads without adjusting, you won't be happy with it. The S16 has taken every type of thread I've thrown at it - metallics, YLI, Aurifil, King Tut, Gutterman, Isacord, and probably some others I can't remember. It does take some practice, but the results are worth it.

    Pam

  12. #12
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Myrtle Beach, SC
    Posts
    6,159
    I bought a used HQ16 and a pcquilter and quilting frame. Love the HQ16, especially since I figured I figured out the tension. The sit down is the same model, just docked in a table.

    I can't use a sitdown table for quilting due to problems with my hands, so can't comment on that. Some folks have suggested going to the sit down group on yahoo...a good idea.

  13. #13
    Super Member amandasgramma's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    La Pine Oregon, USA
    Posts
    5,911
    I have the HQ Avante 18"....I love it. I attend a class once a month at the dealership. A number of the people in the class had 16's and liked them, but traded up because they liked having more quilting space. I can't stand for long myself, so I bought a rolling saddle seat stool. It's adjustable up and down and the seat can be adjusted for its tilt. It doesn't have a back to get in the way. It helps a lot ---I just have to remember to let the seat down before I try to get off it!!! One of these days I'm going to break my neck!!!
    Dee


    "A life spent making mistakes is not only more honorable, but more useful than a life spent doing nothing." by George Bernard Shaw

  14. #14
    Member annrook's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Crescent City, Ca.
    Posts
    35
    Blog Entries
    1
    I have had and used a HQ 16 for over 7 years. It is a workhorse! It requires a little lint removal and a little oil in the bobbin case area and away it goes and goes and goes. I have quilted over 400 quilts.

  15. #15
    Power Poster
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    13,232
    I agree with ckcowl, its nice to have a dealer around to help locally, but at one time I did have to talk to tech at HQ. Love the machine and I have no unfinished quilts.
    SueDor

  16. #16
    Senior Member katz_n_kwiltz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Wilmington, Oh
    Posts
    501
    love my HQ16! I have the model where you stand at the table have had it since '05.
    havent tried the sit down one, but do yourself a favor- go to a quilt show n try before you buy, dont be afraid to ask questions, and try to find a dealer near you. Try several models- not just HQ- if it has all the bells n whistles- go for it,
    AND- you will get a better price if you buy one @ a show!! happy hunting!
    Katz

  17. #17
    Senior Member Karen's Kreations's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    395
    I have the HQ16 sit down machine and I love it. I looked at several mid to long arm machines and test drove quite a few. My biggest problem is lack of space for the standup longarm setup.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.