Welcome to the Quilting Board!

Already a member? Login above
loginabove
OR
To post questions, help other quilters and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our quilting community. It's free!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 30

Thread: Opinions/Ideas???

  1. #1
    Super Member HillCountryGal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    The beautiful Texas hill country.
    Posts
    1,261

    Opinions/Ideas???

    Trying to decide if I should add strips between the blocks... (?)
    Rearrange the blocks... (?)

    What would you do? The person I'm making this for prefers darker/subtle colors.

    Name:  IMG_3510.jpg
Views: 655
Size:  1.50 MB

  2. #2
    Super Member DebbE's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    1,615
    Have you tried turning the blocks? You could end up with an interesting pattern or two that way. I do that when I make up blocks, before sewing anything together - to see if there is something else I might like better. What fabric line has the Texas blocks? I'd love to buy a few of those to make a quilt for my son, who used to live in Texas....

  3. #3
    Super Member HillCountryGal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    The beautiful Texas hill country.
    Posts
    1,261
    DebbE, not sure I still have the side strip to let you know the fabric line. I'll check. It had a total of 8 blocks. The other are rodeo/cowboy pictures.

    I did try turning the blocks. Couldn't figure out what to do with the picture blocks though.

  4. #4
    Power Poster nativetexan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    home again, after 27 yrs!
    Posts
    15,693
    Blog Entries
    2
    do you have anymore of that really dark blue fabric. if so, i'd add that around the Texas blocks instead of the lighter fabric showing past the blue on them. I don't think sashing strips are needed since the person you're making it for likes dark. but a border too would help.

  5. #5
    Power Poster mighty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Upland CA
    Posts
    18,361
    Quote Originally Posted by nativetexan View Post
    do you have anymore of that really dark blue fabric. if so, i'd add that around the Texas blocks instead of the lighter fabric showing past the blue on them. I don't think sashing strips are needed since the person you're making it for likes dark. but a border too would help.
    I also think this would look good.

  6. #6
    Super Member HillCountryGal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    The beautiful Texas hill country.
    Posts
    1,261
    Yep, I've got more of the really dark blue. Probably when I sew the picture squares, the light border will disappear.. that was the plan anyway. But if they're not "right sized", a dark blue border would help it pop.

    Please, keep the ideas coming. Thanks!

  7. #7
    Super Member sahm4605's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Blue Springs, MO
    Posts
    2,240
    i think the dafkest marble blue should be added. the solid blues are throwing me i think. maybe pull ot those and do something else there. also turn some more of the blocks. it is a lovely quilt. maybe pull in a deep brown or rusty color. those solid blues seem out of place to'me. wrong tone or shade. the darkest one is fine how ever. i think thgat if the blues had texture to them like all the other fabric they would work but they just draw the eye too much. but this is only my opinion. good luck. post the final product. would love to see it.
    when life gets you down go and talk with a little kid. They will help you work out even the worst problems with their simple logic.

  8. #8
    Super Member Emma S's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Roseburg, OR
    Posts
    2,957
    Just a thought. Maybe complete the squares on the outside by turning them and then put the pictorial blocks down the center. Can't quite picture how it would look but might work.

  9. #9
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    2,041
    Have you tried putting the picture blooks ramdonly in the center. I think they get lost as cornerstones. Are there any other pic blocks that you could you for that center? Also I think that the bright blue is throwing me off since it is the first color that I see. I would try putting the pic blocks in the center surounded by the green one that are facing with the lg square toward the center. and maybe the bright blocks as the corner stones and the other dark blue blocks as a filler. Show us what you decide.

  10. #10
    Super Member Buckeye Rose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Monroe, IN
    Posts
    2,285
    I think there is too much color grouping....a more random placement of the blocks, as well as turning some of them, will look better than trying to keep them organized....mixing them up, including the picture blocks, will draw the eyes all over the quilt, instead of just one place....I don't think any sashing is needed....just mixed up the blocks....JMHO

  11. #11
    Super Member QuiltingVagabond's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    South Central Indiana
    Posts
    1,255
    I agree with bringing the picture blocks more to the center - how about bringing them one space diagonally toward the center? Then alternate the green/blue blocks with the bright blue on the outside rows maybe?
    QuiltingVagabond aka Kathy

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    368
    I vote with QuiltingVagabond, the pics should move up and in, and I would mix the green and blue blocks, too "muddy" with the green all together, they will blend well all over the quilt with the blues.

  13. #13
    Super Member HillCountryGal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    The beautiful Texas hill country.
    Posts
    1,261
    Great ideas! Guess because I think everything NEEDS to be organized, that's why they are/were arranged that way. I've been messin' with them for a while this morning, not 100% happy. Maybe I do need to "muddy" them up a bit! Thanks.


    The panel is: Red River II by Yuko Hasegawa/2012 RJR Fabrics

  14. #14
    Super Member HillCountryGal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    The beautiful Texas hill country.
    Posts
    1,261
    I'd even considered putting the picture blocks on the back... beings they're what seems to be giving me headaches. Going to try y'alls suggestions and see what works.

    Thank each of you. I appreciate you taking the time to help.

  15. #15
    Super Member Emma S's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Roseburg, OR
    Posts
    2,957
    Be sure and show us what you decide.

  16. #16
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    2,041
    Quote Originally Posted by HillCountryGal View Post
    I'd even considered putting the picture blocks on the back... beings they're what seems to be giving me headaches. Going to try y'alls suggestions and see what works.

    Thank each of you. I appreciate you taking the time to help.
    Why are you using the pic blocks? are they the main inspiration/theme for the quilt or an after thought since you have them so why not use them. Putting them on the back may confuse the user as to which is the back and what is the front. Maybe you should not use them at all. I personally think that they will add pizzaz to the quilt if used in the center and tone down the bright blue.

  17. #17
    Super Member TexasSunshine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Kilgore Tx
    Posts
    1,839
    equilter.com has the Texas fabric, a new panel that I really like.
    Texas Sunshine, piney woods of NE Texas

  18. #18
    Super Member calla's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    2,590
    Blog Entries
    7
    I like sashing to set blocks, nice work.........calla

  19. #19
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    72
    This looks great, I agree with the post that suggest adding more of that dark deep blue; and I would add a strip! Great job

  20. #20
    Super Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1,807
    Blog Entries
    1
    IMO, if someone were to use this on a bed, or on their lap, the pictures would get 'lost' if staying on the edges. Consider moving the pictures 'into' the quilt. If the layout of each of the other blocks is what you had planned, leave those, but switch 4 of them out for the pictures. I think putting the green blocks around the pictures would set off the pictures, then the blues around those, and use blue/green fabric as a border, add the lighter blue for a border and add a dark blue binding. So much you can do by rearranging the blocks and colorings.

  21. #21
    Super Member Delta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Waco Texas
    Posts
    1,177
    Blog Entries
    1
    I think sashing would look good. I am with DebbE on turning the blocks to see what you get. then you might come up with something different.
    SMILE- it will make everyone wonder what you are up to.
    Stay strong and keep looking up.

  22. #22
    Super Member HillCountryGal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    The beautiful Texas hill country.
    Posts
    1,261
    Well ladies... it's finished! All your ideas and suggestions really helped me figure out what would work and make my friend happy. Thank you so much.

    Name:  IMG_3530.jpg
Views: 61
Size:  129.8 KB

  23. #23
    Super Member HillCountryGal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    The beautiful Texas hill country.
    Posts
    1,261
    Doubt you can make it out... but I machine quilted the shape of Texas in each corner, then a big star in the center. Plus outlined each picture/square. After that, I tied the rest. Was going to machine quilt diagional lines across, but the back kept puckering. I'm happy with it and think my friend will be too.

    Again, thank y'all for your encouragement.

  24. #24
    Super Member Emma S's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Roseburg, OR
    Posts
    2,957
    Wow, great job. Can't even believe it is the same quilt. Like this incarnation the best.

  25. #25
    Super Member QuiltingVagabond's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    South Central Indiana
    Posts
    1,255
    Looks great, this is a great example of how different a quilt can look when you play with the arrangement.
    QuiltingVagabond aka Kathy

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.