Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   1st time machine quilter questions. (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/1st-time-machine-quilter-questions-t283370.html)

lorli 10-28-2016 12:05 PM

1st time machine quilter questions.

I need the most basic advice about machine quilting. I've never done any before. Every bed size quilt I have made was given out to a long arm quilter and I have hand quilted wall hangings and small projects.

Finally, I finished a pieced quilt, started more than 2 years ago. I stopped quilting entirely then because of illness and finally got back to it a couple of months ago and it's done! It is about 70x90" and pieced (thanks, Kris, for the pattern!), combining 1" strips with 7.5" squares. It is supposed to be for a Christmas present, so I had better hurry up.

Here come the questions:
1. When I sandwich it, do I baste or use safety pins?
2. I don't have a large table or access to one and I don't even know how or where I can sandwich it.
3. Quilt-in-the-ditch would probably look best, but do I have to quilt every ditch? Some are just an inch apart.
4. The batting package says it can be quilted 10" apart, is that true? It seems like a lot.
5. Do you think I have time to do it before Christmas? The backing and binding are all cut and pieced together.
6. Any suggestions about practicing before starting?

Thank you in advance, I want to start but I'm getting really nervous about it. Ay advice at all would be wonderful.

Lorli

osewme 10-28-2016 12:20 PM

Lorli, I think you have time to finish the quilt by Christmas.
1. You can baste the three layers (back, batting, top) together with long, running thread stitches or you can pin baste it. If you don't have any, I would suggest buying the quilter's safety pins that have a bend in them. They are much easier to baste a quilt with & also to take out when you are finished.