Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   9-patch frustration (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/9-patch-frustration-t203311.html)

Buckeye Rose 10-15-2012 02:16 PM

9-patch frustration

I've been quilting for several years, so in my mind still a relatively new quilter. But you would think that I could follow the pattern for a simple 9-patch.....not the case....I've sewn so many of them backwards, that I've quit for the day. There are 110 of the 9-patches, but geez....It isn't difficult, just tedious piecing. Can't figure out why I am having such a bad day. Just had to vent to somebody that understands my frustration.

bearisgray 10-15-2012 02:30 PM

Maybe tomorrow will go better?

Deborahlees 10-15-2012 02:37 PM

I am assuming you are making a 9 match from 9 different fabrics, and they should all be in the same location for each block.....then you sew, cut, turn, sew.....I can appreciate and feel your frustration.......May I suggest you make 2 guides, they can be simple drawn on paper with pieces of the fabric pined on. The first guide of the original layout.....the just make a sketch of the second layout and put pieces of the fabric in each square....now you have something visual to look at during the assembly....I can totally understand how you feel...but there is a solution and how to make it easier....:p

Tartan 10-15-2012 02:40 PM

Sometimes you just have a bad day. "The sun will come out tomorrow...." hopefully.

LivelyLady 10-15-2012 03:12 PM

Sounds like my day. I made a handbag which I really like, but when I started putting things into it, it sounded all crinkly inside. I finally figured it out. The fusible interfacing I thought I had used was actually Steam-A-Seam lite and I never took the paper off after ironing it onto the pocket fabric. Duh!! That ended my sewing for the day!

Jennie and Me 10-15-2012 04:38 PM

Sometimes ya just gotta back away! ;)