Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Almost finished with the baby quilt (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/almost-finished-baby-quilt-t228698.html)

amelia0607 08-24-2013 09:00 PM

Almost finished with the baby quilt

II started working on this quilt in May, I think. It's my first project (made a practice blankie for dog and a practice doll blanket). I've used a panel and pieced two borders with a few appliqued "patches" on it. Now have to bind it. On the doll blanket I used the packaged binding but only because mom had some in with the stuff she gave me when I abducted her sewing machine. On the dog blanket, I left some extra backing and brought it over. And I could do either of those on this quilt; however, buying binding would be a little expensive but I could do it.

I really need to finish this because I have two doll blankets to make soon for a couple of special 3 year olds and a small lap quilt for my SIL for Christmas and then I need to start on baby blankets, notice I said blanketS!! If all goes well, grandchildren 2 & 3 will be joining us in April. Please say a prayer for this as daughter has had three miscarriages in the past year.

Anyway, what is the easiest way to bind - pre-made binding, binding made from fabric, or bringing backing over? I will be using a machine as I have hand tremors and just can't hand stitch anymore. This is one of the reasons I've turned to quilting. I used to embroider and needlepoint but can't keep hands steady enough anymore but so far so good with the machine.

Thanks in advance for your advice!!

Amy

Jan in VA 08-24-2013 10:22 PM