Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   am I smarter than a 5th grader (nooooooo!!!!!!) (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/am-i-smarter-than-5th-grader-nooooooo-t266843.html)

sassysews2 06-25-2015 10:29 AM

am I smarter than a 5th grader (nooooooo!!!!!!)

let's start this by saying I am not good at math. I need to figure how big my fabric square needs to be if the long side (across from corner to corner) measurement is 38". I need to figure four corners for a king size quilt and I can't for the life of me figure this out. If any of you know this formula, please help. I can quilt, add, subtract, multiple, and divide. Cannot do higher levels of math, who knew I would need formulas to quilt.?? lol

delma_paulk 06-25-2015 10:32 AM

Sorry I can't help......worse person in math you ever saw. Am mathmetically challenged big time.
I'm sure there is someone on here that can help, though.

EasyPeezy 06-25-2015 10:56 AM

1 Attachment(s)
I don't quite understand your question. When I plan a quilt I use graph paper
or a spreadsheet. It's a lot easier with the latter because I can color and change
the size as I wish. Here's a screenshot of my current plan.

k_jupiter 06-25-2015 11:12 AM

If the 38 inches is the diagonal of your square (which is how I read it) the sides of the square need to be 26 7/8 inch.

The formula is A squared plus B squared = the square root of the diagonal. Or, as this is a square, 2 times A times A (because A = B) = the square root of the diagonal. So if you take your 38 inches and square it (multiply 38 times 38) then divide that by 2 you have the number that if you find what multiplies itself to get that number that is the length of the side. Called the square root. Do not try this without a calculator or spread sheet. Confused? I don't blame you. It's harder to describe than to do. The number is 26 7/8 in this case.

tim in san jose