Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Any left handed quilters out there? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/any-left-handed-quilters-out-there-t261631.html)

DresiArnaz 02-22-2015 01:39 PM

Any left handed quilters out there?

My daughter is expressing some interest in sewing and quilting but she's a southpaw and I'm a lousy teacher!

Anybody have any tips or must have items for the left handed?

Thank you in advance. : )

Dresi

caspharm 02-22-2015 02:21 PM

Buy a rotary cutter that can be switched (if she buys a retractable), like an olfa or a fiskar. I prefer the Olfa Ergonomic ones myself. There is a new one that is out with a comfort handle, but the blade cannot be set up for a left handed person. Most scissors these days tend to be either hand.

I've noticed that quilting is less of an issue for me than knitting or crocheting (those are definitely more of a handedness issue). Most of our toys are not really left or right handed.

I forget which books by certain teachers include cutting directions for left handed people, but I have never really had an issue with any pattern as well it is well written.

I just bought a Panasonic Cordless iron, which is nice, since I always had an issue with irons and ironing boards that are definitely geared towards the right handed.

Hope these few ideas help and tell her welcome to the club. As far as teaching her, start simple and there are some good videos online these days. Missouri Star has some simple ones and there a great many others.

Sheilz 02-22-2015 02:23 PM

I'm left handed and manage with the same items as everyone else. We may look cack-handed but as with most things we develop our own techniques to manage everyday tasks. I'm sure your daughter will learn quilting from you just as she has with everything else you've taught her.

psychonurse 02-22-2015 02:30 PM