Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Appliquéing a detailed crocheted butterfly question. (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/appliqu%E9ing-detailed-crocheted-butterfly-question-t192507.html)

TeresaPendino 06-22-2012 11:53 AM

Appliquéing a detailed crocheted butterfly question.

1 Attachment(s)
I am new to appliqué and have done a bit of research on the techniques. My creativity got to going and I thought of crocheting these beautiful butterflies and incorporating them into a quilt. Each will measure 8" wide x 10.5" long, therefore thinking of putting them on the diagonal of a 12" finished block. I am not ready to start this project as of yet, but wanted to do some more research on the "how to's". I have a huge fear that this idea is completely out there on mixing crochet with quilting. My question is: Would I just sew around the body, wings and antennas or would I attempt to sew the detailed parts inside the wings as well? One other question: Can you use wax paper with yarn like you would fabric as in a fusible web type of process? My heartfelt gratitude in advance for any advice that may be given. All of you talented people are much appreciated and inspiring!

ckcowl 06-22-2012 12:08 PM

wax paper is not used for applique---freezer paper is- they are 2 different products- freezer paper has a plastic coating that does not leave a residue on the fabric- wax paper is wax-melts- leaves wax on fabric.
i have added tatted butterflies to quilting projects- almost the same thing-except instead of yarn they were made with cotton thread.
i stitched down around the outside- & anywhere i was worried it would pull up with time-
freezer paper is generally used for templates to cut out appliques & to use to turn under edges-
a fusable web i think is maybe what you were thinking of-