Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Back to basics (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/back-basics-t268775.html)

annesthreads 08-14-2015 10:52 PM

Back to basics

I've been quilting for about 15 years, but recently decided to do a Craftsy class on borders, as mine didn't always work out as well as I'd like. It's been a great experience, as I've picked up some useful tips, and it's made me look again at the ways I do even basic things - eg I've learned a better way to join strips at 45 degrees, have asked myself why I don't use steam when I press and can now do all my measurements and fabric calculations for borders more accurately. I think I'm going to do some more of the basic classes - it's so easy to stick to old habits (or acquire bad new ones!) and never question why I do things a certain way.

Trapunta 08-15-2015 03:19 AM

Thanks for the advice. I think I need that class just to finish my first quilt with borders. I might as well start out by acquiring good habits!

ckcowl 08-15-2015 04:03 AM

Funny how sometimes we go along maybe taking a shortcut then come across a class, book, tutorial, something that takes us back to the basics. We realize when we step back to the basics everything falls back into place. :) I think we could all once in awhile benefit from a basics/beginner class. :) . craftsy has a great assortment. I was recently asked to teach a 12 year old to sew- wanting to give her a good foundation I pulled out books I'd not browsed in a number of years- boy, have I been cutting some corners! The basics are a great place to go when things are no longer quite right! :)

ManiacQuilter2 08-15-2015 09:08 AM