Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Basting Guns (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/basting-guns-t100819.html)

JustJill 02-18-2011 08:01 AM

I need some advice about basting guns. I almost bought one yesterday but thought I would first poll users here for their opinions. Making my "quilt sandwich" and then basting it or pinning it is the hardest part of quilting for me. I wondered if using a basting gun with those little tacks would be easier. I also am exploring machine quilting - nothing fancy; I'm just a beginner. But I also wondered how much those tacks would interfere with that process. Thanks for any light you can shed.

fidgety 02-18-2011 08:04 AM

Originally Posted by JustJill
I need some advice about basting guns. I almost bought one yesterday but thought I would first poll users here for their opinions. Making my "quilt sandwich" and then basting it or pinning it is the hardest part of quilting for me. I wondered if using a basting gun with those little tacks would be easier. I also am exploring machine quilting - nothing fancy; I'm just a beginner. But I also wondered how much those tacks would interfere with that process. Thanks for any light you can shed.

I have one. I do not use it. It was more of a pain for me. I use the spray adhesive. seems to work alot better for me. How much was that gun anyways? I would sen dyou mine for shipping if you want it. save you som eof the cost of experimenting. Only thing is I will have to find it. lol.. make sure it didnt get tossed out. lol. was it the little red one with the red tacks?

amma 02-18-2011 08:09 AM

The only problem I have with basting tacks are trying to move them while I am quilting.