Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Batik Jelly Roll Quilt, concerned about colors bleeding (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/batik-jelly-roll-quilt-concerned-about-colors-bleeding-t258792.html)

nancysp 12-27-2014 06:24 AM

Batik Jelly Roll Quilt, concerned about colors bleeding

I am just about done piecing my quilt made from a jelly roll of batiks. Because it was a jelly roll, I did not prewash the fabric. The lady at my LQS knows I don't prewash fabrics, but recommends it for batiks "because they are dyed from the outside". So . . . my question is, should I try to soak the top in something before the quilt is sandwiched? Or wait until its done and do it? Or both? The fabric for the backing is also batik.

The quilt top has a gold (non batik) sashing. Appreciate all the expert advice.

meyert 12-27-2014 06:55 AM

I have only used batiks in 2 quilts, so I am no expert. What I used was yardage and I did prewash. I don't believe there was any excessive bleeding in the batiks that I used.

There was a time that I would prewash everything - would have been afraid not to. But this year I have completed 12 quilts that the fabric was not prewashed. (none of these were batik fabrics) I washed the final quilts with synthrapol and color catchers and everyone of them turned out great.

Do you have any scraps left that you run some tests with?

toverly 12-27-2014 06:55 AM

Don't do a thing but throw it in the wash with about 6-7 color catchers. I am a batiks girl and never prewash. The only batiks I am hesitant with are reds and navy's. But all's well so far.

Quiltngolfer 12-27-2014 06:56 AM