Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   batting used for baby quilts? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/batting-used-baby-quilts-t250512.html)

deeleigh 07-21-2014 08:57 AM

batting used for baby quilts?

Not having children of my own I am really stumped when I go and look at battings.I usually use Warm & Natural for most of my quilts but want something with alittle more puff for a baby quilt. I went to Hobby Lobby and after looking at all battings came home with Mountain Mist Ultra fine 100% poly.it says it is crib size so quessed it would be ok.I just need to be sure. You ladies are so smart and have helped a self taught quilter alot.

quiltingcandy 07-21-2014 09:00 AM

I use either 50/50 cotton/poly or 100% poly for children's quilts. They both hold up well with the amount of washing they get.

ManiacQuilter2 07-21-2014 09:00 AM

I have preferred to use Hobbs cotton batting 80/20. It will wear very nicely and it has a bit more puff than W&N. I have never been a fan of polyester batting. It is a bit challenging to quilt.

NJ Quilter 07-21-2014 09:27 AM

Not an expert here by any means. I think if it's loft you're looking for you'll probably need to go with at least a poly blend if not 100% poly. Personally, I prefer natural fibers as they burn vs melting. Safer for everyone.

Terri D. 07-21-2014 09:41 AM

I would go with a regular 100% cotton batt because it breathes; poly can get too warm to sleep under.

RainyBC 07-21-2014 10:23 AM

1 Attachment(s)