Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Bearding! (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/bearding-t57703.html)

franie 08-03-2010 04:22 PM

I have been quilting for about 15 yrs or so but just learned what bearding meant. Unfortunately, it happened on a quilt I just quilted and planned to enter in the fair. It has a lot of black in the quilt and I did not use black batting--does that clue you? I have white spots in some areas at the stitching lines. Someone suggested a battery operated sweater pill remover like shaver. I don't have one of those but I did remember a fine tooth comb for pill removing. Found it and it is working somewhat. More to go. Anyone have any other suggestions on how to remove bearding? I thought bearding was when batting sagged and drooped when the quilting was not close enough and hung. I am busy now shaving...

thimblebug6000 08-03-2010 04:27 PM

I have only ever had a problem with bearding when I used a poly batt. Sorry you're having a problem, but can't think of any other cure.....the fibers are migrating through the cotton fabric weave.... will be interested to hear if someone has a cure for you. Even if you shave/trim the bearding at the moment....won't it continue as the quilt is used?

Rob 08-03-2010 04:29 PM

I do not have any suggestions but if you use the sweater shaver for other things, you may want to consider getting an electric one. Mine? That thing just went thru batteries right and left!

mom-6 08-03-2010 07:11 PM

Originally Posted by thimblebug6000
I have only ever had a problem with bearding when I used a poly batt. Sorry you're having a problem, but can't think of any other cure.....the fibers are migrating through the cotton fabric weave.... will be interested to hear if someone has a cure for you. Even if you shave/trim the bearding at the moment....won't it continue as the quilt is used?