Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Best brand of rotary blades? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/best-brand-rotary-blades-t235932.html)

mhollifiel 12-02-2013 06:43 PM

Best brand of rotary blades?

I bought a Martelli rotary cutter and immediately noticed that the blade seems much sharper than my other blades right out of the package. I have been using it for about three months interchangeably with my old rotary cutters/blades. It still seems sharper to me.

Is it just me or are there better rotary blades than others? I have always just bought, used, dulled and changed up until this but I marvel at the enduring sharpness of the blade that came in the Martelli. And I don't think it's just the different style of rotary cutter. Anyone else come across a better rotary blade than usual?

DOTTYMO 12-02-2013 07:20 PM

I alwYs find a new blade is the sharpest. As to makes I find no differences.

Grace creates 12-02-2013 07:37 PM

Will the martinelli blade fit into a Gingler or Friskars rotary cutter.

ctrysass2012 12-02-2013 08:07 PM

The Martelli cutter is great! I have had 1 for at least a year & it is still sharper than my Fiskers with a new blade. It's a 45mm blade so I'm sure it will work in other cutters. When I bought it, I was told I could use the Fiskers blades if I wanted to. Am thinking I will buy some Martelli blades to have on hand, just in case. Maybe I could use them in the
Fiskers cutter even though I have 3-4 5 pk for that cutter.

hopetoquilt 12-03-2013 01:27 AM

I always use the yellow olfa. Never had a problem. They seem to last a long long time.

Scissor Queen 12-03-2013 04:37 AM

Martelli and Gingher blades are both sharper and last longer than other brands.

mhollifiel 12-03-2013 04:45 AM

Thanks ctrysass2012 for comfirming what I suspected!