Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Best fabric manufacturers for quilting ? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/best-fabric-manufacturers-quilting-t95214.html)

libber 01-30-2011 09:13 AM

Being a newbie I need your suggestions please. Given what I have read here about Wal-Mart's lack of quality fabrics, etc. I would to hear what you consider the best quality fabric manufacturers. Also, is there such a thing as outstanding designers of quilting fabrics?

QultingaddictUK 01-30-2011 09:20 AM

I was in the same mind when I started quilting, I don't have a Walmart here in the UK, but I learned over the years by the touch and feel, lack of fraying etc; what fabrics I liked.

I now buy all my fabrics from http://www.thousandsofbolts.com/ as they sell only top quality known quilting fabric manufacturers at amazing prices, so much so that even with postage is it cheaper for me here in the UK, where the prices at our LQS are shocking :shock:

Give it time you will learn your preferences.

Maia B 01-30-2011 09:20 AM

Gosh, where to start?! Moda, Hoffman, RJR, Marcus... So many. Very soon you will know by the feel.

ghostrider 01-30-2011 09:28 AM

That's kind of like asking for the name of the best chocolate company. You're going to get as many names as you get replies. ;) Try them all, you'll learn what you like...that goes for both fabric AND chocolate! :D

Sweetness 01-30-2011 09:29 AM

Whatever appeals to my senses is my only criteria (visually, perceptually, sensory). Just continue to fondle fabric at various places. It won't take long to learn your preferences. It's kind of like buying sheets ;)

Zebra2 01-30-2011 09:31 AM