Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Best Press Question (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/best-press-question-t265321.html)

lovingLakeMich 05-18-2015 06:45 AM

Best Press Question

I am fairly new to quilting and have learned so much from QB. I appreciate the generous way members share their knowledge, thank you. I used Best Press for the first time and I believe that I read in a previous thread to be sure to wash the item with Best Press in it as it attracts silverfish. I had a major problem with silverfish years ago and do not wish to repeat it. So, my question is this: do you rinse out and dry the scraps before you store them or store them sealed in plastic? Has anyone had a problem with this?

joe'smom 05-18-2015 07:06 AM

I have never heard this before about Best Press. But I have heard that starch can attract critters of various kinds (Best Press is not starch, but a starch substitute). This is one of the reasons I use the more expensive Best Press over starch. I'll look forward to hearing what others have to say about it.

ManiacQuilter2 05-18-2015 08:42 AM

I never heard that problem before. Usually when I used starch, it is being made into a quilt, not being place in storage. Only creatures that I have had problem with are ants getting into my iron to the water.

gale 05-18-2015 11:16 AM

I use magic sizing since it supposedly doesn't attract bugs. I sometimes make a top or parts of a quilt and it sits for months (and I admit, sometimes years) before I get it finished and washed.

NJ Quilter 05-18-2015 11:19 AM

I do prewash but don't use starch on my fabric until I am ready to use it. Hence, no storage/bug issues. I also don't maintain a stash per se but what little I do maintain, I figure I'd need to iron it prior to usage anyhow so why starch twice??

caspharm 05-18-2015 11:23 AM