Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Best results to start and end threads on quilting projects? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/best-results-start-end-threads-quilting-projects-t304468.html)

suspendedglass 04-30-2019 04:46 AM

Best results to start and end threads on quilting projects?

Hi, I am fairly new to quilting and have purchased a used hq sweet 16. A I am working through the various stages of practicing, I was wondering what you think is the best method to stopping and starting threads. I guess I am asking if you bury ends, just do a couple of short stitches at beginning and end or use another method? Any info would be appreciated! Thanks so much!

QuiltE 04-30-2019 05:11 AM

For me, my choice is to leave threads so I can tie off and bury the thread ends,
both at the beginning of stitching and at the end.

To me, doing a few stitches and snipping off, just seems too dangerous, asking for it to unravel later.
Besides, I do not like seeing a lot of extra stitches, preferring nice clean stitch lines.

As I say, these are my preferences ... find what works for you and what your preferences are.

feline fanatic 04-30-2019 05:19 AM