Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Which is better? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/better-t197156.html)

zimmersg 08-09-2012 01:24 PM

Which is better?

I'm in the market to purchase a frame so I can machine quilt. I have a Singer Confidence Quilter and have decided I'm ready to try a bigger set up, but don't want to take on a second car payment or mortgage payment so I'm looking for something used.

I've got 2 deals I'm considering between.

First is a Pennywinkle 10' frame with a Juki TL98E machine. It looks to be in great shape and she has some patterns that go with it too. The price is $1,000.

Second is a 16' frame with a KQ622 machine. It comes with the bobbin winder and some patterns. This table would require me to replace the wood table part, as it is particle board and has become warped. The lady is asking $800 for all.

Being a beginner, I have no clue what questions to ask or what to look for when I go see these two set-ups in person. What advise or suggestions do you all have?

Thank you SO much,
Susan

Gramie bj 08-09-2012 02:04 PM

Ask to try them out, ask present owner to show you how they work, who did her maintaince work on the machines (then call the shop and tell them you are considering buying Mrs. SO AN SO's machine can they give you any information on it?) before you go call a dealer that sells the machines, ask them what to look for and if either machine has a history of problems, do they service the machines in house or send out? Good luck! both sound like good prices! I would lean tword the 16 in. myself, just for the size alone, I have an 18 and I sure wish it was larger.

ckcowl 08-09-2012 02:11 PM

i would ask to try them out- if you went to a dealer to purchase a quilting machine/table you would test drive it-