Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Binding. A couple questions (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/binding-couple-questions-t49554.html)

Joe 06-13-2010 07:04 PM

I'm pretty sure I'm going to use bias binding to bind my quilt. This is my first time using a separate binding the only other quilt I made i folded over the back. Anyway I've got a book that recommends ironing it as I cut it. Sounds reasonable. Before I attach it should I iron the 1/4" seams and the middle fold before I try to attach it. I'm pretty lost anybody got a good link? Thanks

virtualbernie 06-13-2010 07:07 PM

I just iron the middle fold. You sew 1/4 inch to the quilt then fold it over.

maryv 06-13-2010 07:13 PM

I think that you iron the 1/4 inch on each side if you are going to sew it all at once front and back which would require an excess amount of pinning to be sure it is caught top and bottom. I am sure that a more experienced quilter will have the link that you are requesting.

Joe 06-13-2010 07:18 PM

Originally Posted by virtualbernie
I just iron the middle fold. You sew 1/4 inch to the quilt then fold it over.

That makes sense. I'm just so nervous. I've got so much work in it right now I'd hate to mess it up now.

FranW 06-13-2010 07:19 PM

If you go to the search feature at the top and type in "attaching a binding", quite a few links come up. Usually I cut the strips 2.5" wide, fold in half, sew to the front, and hand stitch to the back. Good Luck!

ktbb 06-13-2010 07:23 PM