Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Binding issue (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/binding-issue-t163345.html)

bigsister63 10-26-2011 05:21 AM

Please post tips and how-to about how to do "good " binding on a quilt. There was a recent post from someone who entered quilts in a show and was critized on her bindings. I am sure many of us old and new quilters would benefit from help! Thanks!

PaperPrincess 10-26-2011 05:26 AM

Here's a search on all the tutorials on binding on this site. Everything from making the binding, attaching it, turning the corner and making sure you have enough 'stuffing'
http://www.quiltingboard.com/search....inding&u=&s=10

Scissor Queen 10-26-2011 06:01 AM

Even binding is subject to different opinions. I've been doing my binding the same way for several years now. I got an "excellent binding" from one quilt judge and a mark down on my binding from a judge this year. Just do your best.

QuiltnNan 10-26-2011 06:05 AM

one of the things that judges look for in bindings is that it is 'full'. some quilters have put extra batting in their bindings to achieve that. i cut my binding fabric 2.25". when i cut it 2.5", it get the empty look.
judges also look for perfectly square corners. so practicing the mitering of the corners is important.

Highmtn 10-26-2011 06:07 AM

Two years ago I got a second place ribbon at the fair and the comment card read "Lovely quilt, but wavy binding". I took that quilt (lg. wall hanging actually) to our quilt club meeting and the whole class looked my project over and could not SEE what the judge was talking about. It was a disappointment, but so be it. It didn't stop me from entering quilts at our fair and having fun making them.