Quiltingboard Forums

Quiltingboard Forums (https://www.quiltingboard.com/)
-   Main (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/)
-   -   Block at a time or sections at a time? (https://www.quiltingboard.com/main-f1/block-time-sections-time-t109211.html)

Bluebonnet 03-20-2011 12:18 PM

I am new at quilting and am working on a shawl for a lady at work that is going through breast cancer treatments. I have cut all the pieces out and made one block so far. My question to you ladies n gents is this...do you sew a to b then add c and then d e f and so forth or do you grab all the a & b's and sew them together, iron then sew all the c's to the a/b's iron, then add all the rest. If that makes any sense at all! I am just curious how everyone does them. I have bee lurking and reading several times a day here and love seeing everyones quilts and seeing the quilting rooms.

Bobbi

pstoner 03-20-2011 12:22 PM

Originally Posted by Bluebonnet
I am new at quilting and am working on a shawl for a lady at work that is going through breast cancer treatments. I have cut all the pieces out and made one block so far. My question to you ladies n gents is this...do you sew a to b then add c and then d e f and so forth or do you grab all the a & b's and sew them together, iron then sew all the c's to the a/b's iron, then add all the rest. If that makes any sense at all! I am just curious how everyone does them. I have bee lurking and reading several times a day here and love seeing everyones quilts and seeing the quilting rooms.

Bobbi

Bobbi:

I first want to say bravo for making a quilt for someone with cancer, what a wonderful thing for you to do.